How to make sure files save in a certain language

Hello guys!

I'm quite new to Atom and after some exploring of al the different settings and functions, I've finally got myself to write something! But I immediately stumbled upon a pretty big problem for me!

I already noticed that in the right-hand corner, you can select the language you want to write in. The problem is that when I save a file, my computer doesn't recognize the language. That means that I cannot save the file as a .html or a .css file. The only way I can save my files in is of the type: file. Is there any way of manipulating this so my computer sees the files the way I meant it to be seen? I can't open HTML-files in a browser anymore and that really hurts my work speed, because I don't know exactly what I'm writing anymore!.

If anyone knows how to fix this, please help me. Thus far I'm absolutely in love with Atom! :relaxed:

What platform are you running Atom on? Do you have your OS configured to hide file extensions? If you save your files with the appropriate extension for the file type you want it to be recognized as, such as .html for HTML, then things should work properly.

Sorry for not responding so long.

Well, that’s the problem, I cannot set the appropriate file extensions.

I have actually found a solution, though. Before Atom, I used Code Writer. In Atom, you can select your language in the bottom right corner, but in Code Writer, you select your language before you even start typing. Because the language would be set, I could open an empty file for, let’s say, HTML, and when I would save it, all the file extensions would become available to me. If I save those files in a correct folder, I would be able to select them in Atom, so I can edit them! However, this is very inefficient, so I would love it if you found a proper solution for me!