How to make it run adobe affter efffects scripts

I know that atom can run scripts for after effects right from the editor. I can’t figure out what settings/packages/tweaking I need. I am quite new to programming so i don’t even know what topics to search to figure it out. Any direction would be appreciated.

Can you point us to some documentation on how After Effects scripts work?

After effects scripting language is basically javasccript with some added functions. Its called extendscript. Here is some big documentation on it. The thing is that extendscript editor has a play button, kinda like in visual basic, that runs the script inside after effects. I am not really sure how i can make atom run it. But to search for a connection, what methods/instances/things should i lookup in the documentation?

A cursory inspection turns up nothing, but I’ve also never used that software. I think you should first ask an expert in After Effects if it’s possible to run ExtendScript from outside the program. If they tell you how, then the rest of the equation from Atom’s side is a piece of cake and I can give you half a dozen ways to do it.

Will do that. Thank you for your help.

Hi, is there any update to this discussion?

The closest i got was this package . But it works only on mac OS and i have a windows machine :frowning:

Have you talked to any After Effects experts about whether it can be used from the command line?

I got the answer today on another forum. Apparently it is a command, as you suggested. So for anyone having the same issue: