How to include a external JSON data file

Hello there,
I’m very new in using Atom, and therefore I have a very easy question…:wink:
I have a html file with a javascript (VUE) in that reads a json file which is “hardcoded” in the html file itself,
Like this …

<script type="text/javascript">
      var App = new Vue({
          el: '#app',
          data:
          {
              "records": [
                  {
                      "id": "A45",
                      "fields": ........

lots of records follow here

and ending with

This is working fine, so there is nothing wrong with the javascript as such, but of course, I don’t like the raw data json file to be “hardcoded” in my html file.
Instead I would like to reference it, so I can using the same html file, with only changing the name of the json file. So I’m looking for a syntax something like (assuming rawdata.json is the name of the json data file that contains all the records and resides in the same directory of the html file)

%include rawdata.json. ??
or maybe
#incorporate rawdata.json ??
or … ???

IS this possible en how do I reference it ?
Thanks, any help appreciated.

1 Like

This probably is not what you are looking for, but here is the answer provided by my brain, such as it is.

Can you link to the json file like this?

<script type="text/javascript" src="relative/path/from/url/to/rawdata.json"></script>

or

<script type="text/javascript" src="complete/url/to/rawdata.json"></script>

If the rawdata.json file is in a domain different from the html file, you have to deal with Same Origin Policy or the link is blocked.

Here is a more complicated way that has its uses, provided you have server side scripting available:

For instance, in php, here is a file called “embed_json_in_html_file.php”

<!doctype html>
<html  lang="en">
<head>
	<?php
	 require __DIR__.'/rawdata.json';
	 ?>
</head>
<body>
	This html file has json data in the head section.
</body>
</html>