How to Completely Uninstall Atom for Mac?

I have downloaded and tried Atom - very nice. Now that I’ve satisfied my curiosity, I’d like to completely remove it from my Mac.

It seems that it has installed things all over the place: command-line tools, invisible folder, in my home directory, etc. Is there an uninstaller? Failing that, are there instructions anywhere for making sure we delete all traces of the app from my Mac?

Any guidance is greatly appreciated.

Having troubles uninstalling ATOM and getting a fresh install (MacOSX 10.10.5)
Atom only opens up to WebKit develop console
Sidebar color git not resetting

Well, I am not a developer of atom, but I’d say that is a basic concept of OS X: applications might create files like preferences files etc. which are not removed when an application is uninstalled, but do not harm the system (unlike, for example, entries in the windows registry which should be removed).

Nonetheless, I guess trashing the app, removing ~/.atom and ~/Library/Preferences/com.github.atom.plist should take care of the files.
Removing the first one can only be done via the Terminal, just type rm -r ~/.atom. For the second one you can use the Finder, just use Go -> Go to Folder from the menubar, then type ~/Library/Preferences there and look for the file and delete it.

As for the command-line tools, they are installed manually via the menubar (Atom -> Install Shell Commands). I’d assume there is an uninstall command there, but I haven’t installed them so far so I don’t know for sure.

Thank you for the guidance!

I had already noticed the ~/.atom directory, and that is what made me most concerned about what else might be lurking around my system.