How to automatically update tags file upon saving?

Hi, I’m relatively new to all this, so a little confused. I’m using Haskell specifically and hasktags to generate tags files. This works successfully for me (although I use a command with a certain filtering and args to work most efficiently). What’s the easiest way to make my specific hasktags command re-run to update the tags file whenever I save a file in my project?

Can you clarify how you are running hasktags to generate your tags file? Is this provided by a package you have installed, or externally via the command line?

I’m currently just generating the tags with a bash command line operation.

@olmokramer do you want to take a stab at writing a quick init.coffee function to add an on save process like this? :grinning:

I’d be honored :slight_smile: I’ll see what I can do. I’m not familiar with haskell (and/or hasktags) at all, though, and I’m quite busy so it might take a few days before I have something.

@wolftune is there a specific command that you have to run from the command line (or if not from the command line, what else?) in your project to make this happen? Again, I don’t know a thing about haskell/hasktags, but maybe I can help you without learning a damned thing about it :stuck_out_tongue:

Besides wanting anyone and everyone to get into Haskell, all I’m really saying is “is there a way to execute some command upon file saving?” The ideal has nothing to do with Haskell. It would be ideal to just have a way to say “execute X” (i.e. whatever CLI command I want to enter) each time a file is saved, and to make this really useful, it would be “each time a file of type Y” is saved, so then I’d just say “each time a .hs file is saved, run hasktags” but someone using another language could do whatever they want upon file saving…