How to access a local db on windows through electron

Hello,

I am new to electron, and I am trying to create a desktop web application to access a local database. I already have a sqlite database on the machine that I need to be able to read/write to through a web application. I am able to achieve this on a mac, but my main customers run on a windows platform. I have tried multiple different options to achieve this, but I always run into all kinds of errors when I try to make this work on a windows platform. I have yet to be able to find a working example of this. The closest I could find was from the following link:

http://kripken.github.io/sql.js/GUI/

I basically need that example in the form of a web application. The closest I’ve come to making it work on windows has given me the following error:

Uncaught Error: EPERM: operation not permitted, write

My searches have led me in circles trying to figure this out. Any help in a solution for this would be greatly appreciated.

=====================================================

EPERM: operation not permitted, rename

So just so I have this correct. You would like to write a native application, with electron, that can access a local database?

When you start an electron app you have a main process and a renderer process. What helped me figure out how to go about this is thinking of these two processes as a web app’s backend and front-end. The front-end or renderer process cannot directly mingle with the local database. Only the main process can do that. Therefore you will have to use the ipc module (Inter-process communication?) that electronjs provides to hook everything up.

It is kind of similar to how ajax works for webapps. Do you need an example?

That’s not true. As a matter of fact, I recommend specifically to access a database through the renderer process. See:

An example would be wonderful! I’ve been looking for a working example.

Thanks for the link, I will look into this now!