How should I render templates (Handlebars)

Hi all, first post here. I’m new to Electron, but have been using Atom for a while now. I got out of the web development game about 12 years ago now and am mainly a low-level systems programmer…but I need an interface for an application I’m writing and I like the concept of using HTML/Javascript/CSS/etc. for interfaces. Clearly a lot has changed since I last did any serious web-like development.

Anyways, I’m interested in using Handlebars to render parts of my interface, such as dynamically populated repeated page elements and text that is run through i18n. From what I gather, this could be done in the main process using Data URI and passing it to loadURL, or it could be done in the Renderer process. Is there any general consensus at to which way is preferred? Or am I missing the point of Electron entirely and don’t need a template engine at all?

The browser process should be used to access the filesystem, to do background processing, to do the windows management, etc.
The renderer process… is where the rendering happens.
So, although you can theoretically pre-render the page in the browser process and pass the html to the renderer process to display, it doesn’t really make sense.
Also, the communication between browser and renderer processes is not super fast and should be used sparingly.

Thanks, that helps and confirms what I had suspected.

Hey guys,

Just wanted to add my 2 cents. I’ve been thinking about this thread a lot for the past few days, and I don’t agree that the renderer process is where all rendering should happen.