How do I assign unique commands to dynamically-created menu items?

Hi everyone,

I’m new to atom package development, so basic advice would be appreciated. I’m using MenuManager to handle the addition of new menu items that are dynamically iterated from an array of elements.

For example, the generated menu might look like:

• Task XYZ
  • Task AAA
  • Task 321
  • … (number of items vary)

It’s impractical to hardcode a command to each item, as the number of items vary depending on my array. I can have each one of them point to the same command, but how can I then send unique identifiers to the command to process? Is that possible? If not, what’s the way to do this?

I would probably add the command when you add the new menu item. A small problem that needs to be solved is keeping a reference to the disposable for the menu item and a reference to the disposable for the command, so you can also remove both at the same time when the task is no longer needed.

Completely untested code that attempts to do the above:

packageName: require('../package.json').name

activate: ->
  @subscriptions = new CompositeDisposable
  @subscriptions.add @taskMenuItems = new CompositeDisposable
  @subscriptions.add @taskCommands = new CompositeDisposable
  @tasks = []

deactivate: ->
  @subscriptions.dispose()

onNewTask: (taskName) ->
  newTaskMenuItem = atom.menu.add [
    {
      label: @camelCase @packageName
      submenu : [
        {
          label: @camelCase taskName
          command: "#{@packageName}:#{taskName}"
        }
      ]
    }
  ]
  newTaskCommand = atom.commands.add 'atom-workspace', "#{@packageName}:#{taskName}", => @executeTaskFor(taskName)
  @tasks.push {
    name: taskName
    taskMenuItem: newTaskMenuItem
    taskCommand: newTaskCommand
  }
  @taskMenuItems.add newTaskMenuItem
  @taskCommands.add newTaskCommand

onTaskRemoved: (taskName) ->
  for task, i in @tasks
    if task.name is taskName
      task.taskMenuItem.dispose()