How can I make ATOM understand the \n means carrage return?

Hi Everyone,
Bare with me till the end i have to explain a bit first.

I am very new to coding and i am trying to write/modify a “Virtual Driver” or VD for the Fibaro Home Automation system.

Now the driver is supplied to the Fibaro controller in JSON and then is interpolated and changed by the Fibaro system into something else. Not sure what that is, but its not really needed to this discussion.

Here is a sample of the code

-=-=-=-=-=- SNIP -=-=-=-=-=-=-