How can I import an npm package that uses the ES6 module syntax?

Hello,

I’m new to developing Atom packages, and I’m working on writing my first one. I want to import a dependency from NPM that uses the ES6 module syntax, but unfortunately Atom doesn’t seem to like it very much.

I’m working from the template generated by “Package Generate: Generate Package”, which has 'use babel'; at the top of all Javascript files but uses ES6 module syntax, so I’m guessing that it doesn’t really support the ES6 module syntax - it just pretends to and uses Babel to transpile stuff.

This is all very well, but if I want to import from an NPM package that uses the ES6 module syntax, Atom doesn’t appear to be clever enough to do the same for dependencies, and I get this error if I try to import something in an NPM package that uses ES6 module syntax itself:

Must use import to load ES Module: FILEPATH_HERE

This is especially strange, since Node.js for a while now has not required the extra --experimental-modules flag to enable native ES6 module support.

For reference, atom -v shows this:

Atom    : 1.55.0
Electron: 6.1.12
Chrome  : 76.0.3809.146
Node    : 12.4.0

My question is this: How can I import a package from npm that uses the ES6 module syntax itself?

Have you tried using a bundler such as Rollup or Webpack?

The latest Atom version still uses Electron 6, which comes with Node 12.4.0 – so ES6 modules are still behind that flag

Hey there! Thanks for the reply. Are you talking about bundling my Atom package with Rollup? I could certainly do that. it would increase complexity, but I’ve used Rollup before so it wouldn’t be too much of an issue.

I guess then you would point the npm package.json main directive at the output of the build step, as opposed to the real source of the package?

I haven’t looked into publishing yet, but I would guess that there’s some kind of provision for running a build step automatically before publishing.

Thanks for the help!