How can I access the DOM of a <webview>?

I’m just getting started with Electron, with prior experience with node-webkit (nw.js).

In nw.js, I was able to create iframes and then access the DOM of said iframe in order to grab things like the title, favicon, &c. When I picked up Electron a few days ago to port my nw.js app to it, I saw advice to use webviews instead of iframes, simply because they were better. Now, the functionality I mentioned above was relatively easy to do in nw.js, but I don’t know how to do it in Electron (and examples are slim to none). Can anyone help?

Also, I have back/forward buttons for my webview (and I intend on having more than one). I saw in the documentation that I could call functions for doing so on a webview, but nothing I have tried worked either (and, I haven’t found examples of them being used in the wild).

EDIT 1:

Alright, found something.

I was trying to attach Electron handlers to my webview like var webview = $("webview.active"); , but for some reason, that doesn’t work. What does work is var webview = document.getElementById("tab1");, but this is highly inflexible. I intend to have more than one webview, which is why I was trying to target it view a class.

Is it at all possible to make the handlers work with classes?

EDIT 2:

Thanks to this answer on SO, I understand that

document.getElementById("contents"); // returns a HTML DOM Object
var contents = $("#contents");       // returns a jQuery Object

// which led to 

var contents = $("#contents")[0];    // returns a HTML DOM Object

I then tried var webview = document.getElementsByClassName("tabs-pane active")[0]; and it worked! I would still like to access the DOM, but at least I got history working. I would also prefer to use jQuery everywhere instead of mixing JavaScript with jQuery but eh, what can you do.

Regarding accessing the elements within the webview itself, I have been trying to solve this myself here: https://github.com/atom/electron/issues/3315