High CPU usage on Windows 10

I’m using Atom 1.19.4 on Windows 10 x64 and have noticed very high CPU usage that appears to be related to the size of the project that is open.

C:\>atom --version
Atom    : 1.19.4
Electron: 1.6.9
Chrome  : 56.0.2924.87
Node    : 7.4.0

The following observations were done with Atom in safe mode (started with the --safe flag) which to the best of my understanding means no community or other non-core packages are loaded. (I am a technical writer, not a developer, so if I am overlooking obvious things to attempt or processes to observe, that’s probably why.)

I have a rather large project (a web site, actually) with many files and a deep directory structure. When this project is open, Atom’s CPU usage fluctuates between 40-50% – with zero files open for editing. From the task manager:

atom_cpu_safemode_big_project

When I load a small project (in this case the project associated with my Atom configuration – the one that opens when I click “Open Config Folder” in the Settings panel), Atom’s CPU usage is effectively zero. There are a few small transitive CPU percentage values shown in the Task Manager, but mostly the entries show 0%. (Apparently I can included only one image in this post, but the screenshot is similar to the above but with all zeros.)

Note that the memory usage is similar with the large and small projects.

Note also that running Atom in normal mode (that is, with the non-core packages loaded) does not change the CPU usage percentages I see in a noticeable way.

I ran a CPU profile, but don’t see anything obviously amiss, but I don’t really know what to look for there. I can forward the saved .cpuprofile file if it’s useful, but I don’t see a way to attach it here.