Help w/LUA

I’m a noob. Worse than that, I’m an old noob. All I really want is a plugin for Lightroom that no one’s bothered to make. So… I understand such plugins are written in a version of LUA 5.1.4 (a previous version) and I’d like to know I’ve set up the text editor properly. Adobe has an SDK manual that’s I’ve downloaded and noodled around with instructions, but as one might bet, things didn’t work out. I installed some kind of checker but it gives me messages I don’t understand.

Error: spawn luacheck ENOENT
Error: spawn luacheck ENOENT
at exports._errnoException (util.js:1026:11)
at Process.ChildProcess._handle.onexit (internal/child_process.js:193:32)
at onErrorNT (internal/child_process.js:359:16)
at _combinedTickCallback (internal/process/next_tick.js:74:11)
at process._tickCallback (internal/process/next_tick.js:98:9)

Help. :dizzy_face:

We can’t help you unless we know what the specific package is.

It’s not necessarily the error messages but whether or not I’m running the correct version of LUA. In any case, here’s the package I installed and then disabled.

Install luacheck.

There’s not a luacheck package that I can find, but there’s a linter-luacheck. It uses an external application called luacheck, and from the error it sounds like the linter package is unable to find luacheck. ENOENT is short for “error: no entry”, which means that it’s looking for a file or directory that doesn’t exist. So:

1. Is luacheck installed on your system?
  2. If so, does the linter-luacheck config point at luacheck?

Yes, the package is actually called linter -luacheck. I don’t know the significance of linter.

I get error:

Plug-in error log for plug-in at: /Volumes/SF_UserData/Users/smallfavor/PROJECTS/CODING/LUA/helloworld.lrdevplugin

**** Error 1

An error occurred while attempting to load this plug-in.
Info.lua:5: ‘’ expected near ‘LrExportMenuItems’

I’m trying to work through the first excercise in the adobe SDK manual for LR