Help setting up tree-sitter grammar development

I’m excited to start translating my existing regex grammar to a tree-sitter version, but I’ve hit a road block with activating the syntax package in Atom. Please note I have no experience building/setting up dependencies. The closest I’ve come to that is running update package dependencies for developing normal packages.

Steps I followed:

• I downloaded the mac build linked by maxbrunsfeld in this pull

• Opening it, went to Settings -> Core and enabled tree sitter parsers. Reloading, I could see the core ones were being applied (specifically JavaScript).

• Dowloaded tree-sitter-javascript and ran apm link on it (this was to see how to set up a package, so I used this one to guarantee everything else was properly configured).

• Got following error message:

The module '/Users/benjamingray/github/tree-sitter-javascript/build/Release/tree_sitter_javascript_binding.node'
was compiled against a different Node.js version using
NODE_MODULE_VERSION 59. This version of Node.js requires
NODE_MODULE_VERSION 54. Please try re-compiling or re-installing
the module (for instance, using `npm rebuild` or`npm install`).
  • Ran npm rebuild command from the packages root folder & restart Atom.

• Got following console warning:

/private/var/folders/1x/bw45w2n90pd8b3v6tfydvqxr0000gn/T/AppTranslocation/DF198AAD-796A-41C9-B06B-2…:766 Failed to require the main module of 'tree-sitter-javascript' because it requires one or more incompatible native modules (tree-sitter, tree-sitter-cli).
Run `apm rebuild` in the package directory and restart Atom to resolve.
  • Followed the Incompatible Packages prompt to rebuild all problematic packages & reloaded Atom.

• Got original error again.

Again, I have no idea what I’m doing. Any workflow I can follow to start developing my own tree sitter grammar would be appreciated.