Go to Declaration

Hi,

I’m new to Atom. Though I’m like some features I wonder about a very basic function for a source code editor: “Go to Declaration”.
I tried different packages: the built-in “symbols view”, “goto”, “goto-definition”, none did anything.
I’m not even talking about symbols defined in other files in a project, it even doesn’t work for symbols defined in the same source file.
I looked around and find some discussions about this function, but none pointed me to a solution.

Some facts:
Atom 1.29.0
WIN7
Currently I’m using Atom for C-langugae

Any help would be appreciated.

Christian

Tried the same on another computer, running Ubuntu 18.04.
Here I edit PHP.
The effect is the same.
With “goto-definition” and “hyperclick” I can cmd + click symbols, but I always get the message: “No definition found”. Even for e.g. variables that are declared in the same file.
Seems like I have to kind of “index” my project first. Any idea how to solve that? Thanks!

Do you have an example file I can try out? If you an specific repro steps for the example, that would be helpful too.

Hi Robert,
1st of all: thank you very much for trying to help!

Actually I used finally a very simple file for testing.
Since I’m new to this discussion forum I have a -hopefully not too stupid - question: how can I send you the file? :thinking:
I can’t find an attachment function.

Actually I’m not sure about your 2nd sentence. Could you rephrase it?

how can I send you the file?

It sounds like it’s small enough to be pasted here. Please make sure you wrap it with ``` to ensure it’s formatted correctly (check the preview before posting). If the file is ever too large, the issue can normally be isolated to a small chunk of text anyway.

Actually I’m not sure about your 2nd sentence

He’s asking for a list of instructions to follow, so he can reproduce the issue too. Try to provide the exact steps you take, and what you expect / actually happens.

Ok, I understand.