Getting started with atom

Hello,

I’m a beginner programmer. I have about average knowledge of C and a few things on Java. So far I’ve only worked with notepad++ to write my C codes. I have a few questions about atom. So first is there a way to use different commands for the cmd terminal ? I use windows and with notepad++ I would usually ricght click my programm name, then open path to cmd, then type gcc <filename.c> <flags such as: -ansi -pedantic -Wall -Wextra> <sometimes -o new_filename> <rarely: -E or -c>. So I installed a package called gcc-make-run. I found out I can use flags -ansi -pedantic -Wall -Wextra as default, which is nice, but what happens is that the program compiles, runs and then I can’t do anything. It promts press any key then closes the cmd. What if I want to rename the .exe file to -o file_numer23 ? So what I want it so be able to remove this “press any key” so that I can write whatever I want in the cmd. Also how to automatically save new files as .c files ? Thanks.

Because you have not actually told Windows to open a command prompt window. All gcc-make-run does is send your file directly to gcc. If you want to open a command prompt window and compile your code inside it, you want to use the process-palette package with a configuration like this:

The /k switch is what tells the new window to stay open and return to the prompt after the command has concluded.

I don’t know that you can. I also don’t think it’s a burden to type .c at the end of your filename.

1 Like

thanks a lot for your tips !

No problem. :slight_smile: Did you get it to work?

yes i managed to create a compile and run command and another one to open the file path in cmd in case i want anything more complex like adding object files or arguments. Is there any way to make the cmd window close after the program is done ? similarly to how gcc-make promts a “press any key to continue…” message and then closes the cmd ?