Getting started creating an XML-based language superset and editing interface

Hi,

I am a programmer who writes a lot of ARM assembly, and am very accustomed to the interface provided by a program called The Interactive Disassembler (aka IDA). This is what it looks like:

http://trinidad.cloud.securelateral.net/ida-pro.png

If you couldn’t tell from the picture, all of the comments (text preceded by an @ symbol) are auto-generated by the program. In fact, the instructions are too; everything that is displayed in the viewport is stored in a superset of GNU assembly and is generated at runtime. This provides incredible malleability over what is rendered to the output.

What I am wanting to do involves creating an XML spec for my own superset of assembly that does some of the things IDA does, and then creating an Atom package that not only renders that output to a TextEditor instance, but also provides different submenus on Atom’s right-click context menu, depending on what item you clicked over. Ergo, I do not wish to see any XML in the TextEditor instance, but only dynamically rendered ASM.

I have a few questions about this:

1. How can I get started with creating an Atom package? I have worked with themes before, but have no experience with functional mods.
  2. What parts of Atom’s API do I need to manipulate to execute this? I’ve browsed enough to find the `TextEditor` class, and know that it is probably what I wish to be changing in my package.
  3. How difficult will it be to bypass Atom’s behaviour of displaying raw text? What about creating my additions to the default context menu?
  4. Will I need to do this in CoffeeScript, or may I use JavaScript instead?