Game development with Electron

Hi! I have some background in static web development and VBA programming, but thanks to Electron’s gentle learning curve I quickly found myself in early development of a desktop strategy game. I’m using ThreeJS for 3D graphics (crazy what can be done in a browser nowdays!) and tested Dexie as a database, in case arrays/JSON are not enough. My goal in the distant future would be to sell an indie game.

My questions are following:

• Since Electron apps can be published as executable/installer, is there in theory anything to prevent publishing in Steam?

• Would the game propably work at Windows, Mac and Linux as it is? (not taking installers into account)

• Is there anything I should take into consideration early in the development? (I suppose at least licenses of all components/libraries should allow commercial use)

I already have a small company of my own so using commercial components for the project isn’t a problem. I’m in the process of learning Blender, so I can create and import whatever 3D objects I need with ThreeJS. I have also found ways to outsource professional voice acting and music with very acceptable costs, so I can focus on the game itself.

Any insights, tips and warnings are most appreciated, thanks!

Attached early screenshot of a solar system view, just to create ambience :slight_smile:

I don’t know about what requirements over and above “having an installer” Steam has. But if that’s all they require then … sure?

That depends on a lot of factors. While Electron does a lot to make cross-platform development easier, there are some things that you just can’t get around: file systems being different, symlinks not existing in the same way on Windows, text file line endings, keyboard handling differences on non-US English keyboards, etc. So this question is impossible to answer fully without testing it.