Hey guys! I’m a UI designer that happened to stumble upon web development. I never really found an Atom theme that suited my style so I created one. I worked really hard for the past few weeks and it’s finally stable enough to release!

I made this post because I’d love some feedback from the community and help improve this theme, because I poured so much effort and love into it.

Atom

GitHub

From the screenshot, the file list looks super unreadable due to the excessively low contrast, and also the inactive tab titles as well as the line numbers or the status bar are really pushing it. I’m sure this works fine on bright expensive screens, but if people have a muddier screen they’ll have a lot of trouble reading those items, if not find them entirely unreadable.

Beautiful refreshing bold choice of colors for the syntax highlighting though!

Thanks for the feedback!!!

You should try it and let me know. The panes fade away when the editor is focused, and everything brightens up while it’s being interacted with. It’s dynamic.

@tjk I’ll try it out for the day and let you know this evening.

I feel like the colors are too dark, as well. I like the idea of the focused element brightening, but I don’t want to have to move my mouse over to the tree view just to see what’s in my folder. The large scrollbars are a bit glaring since I’m used to much smaller sliders on other themes.

I like the animation and how it makes Atom feel more responsive, but fun transitions between states aren’t the main things I look for in a theme.

Thanks for the feedback! I just released a somewhat large update. I did tweak the colors and opacity slightly to be a little more legible and a little less annoying. Let me know what you think! I think in the roadmap, I might make a user spec that lets you choose if you want the fading panels or not.

I concur for the most part with @DamnedScholar. My general feels:

1. I really like the colors and the high contrast content