Extend a grammar (in small words)

I found the other posts on extending grammar, but as a newbie, I wasn’t able to follow them. I want to add a very simple marker to markdown, which is that phrases bounded by a dot on either end should appear in green. So far, I’ve added this to /usr/share/atom/resources/app/node_modules/language-gfm/grammars/gfm.json …

"patterns": [
  {
  "begin": "·",
  "end": "·",
  "name": "markup.translation.gfm"
  },  

…and then this to my stylesheet:

atom-text-editor {
.markup.translation.gfm {
color: #00ff00;
}

This isn’t working, and I’m stumped on what to try next.

Beware that "." in a regexp doesn’t match a point but any char. Use "\\." to match a point.

I’m not talking about a period, but a floating dot: ·. It should definitely not need to be escaped. I was able to do this in vim, and I’m confident it can be done in Atom. I just don’t (yet) know how.

I have no idea. But the first thing I would do is to use the Inspector to see if the DOM was annotated with the pattern you just added – it should be a span with the class you specified.

At least that tells you whether the pattern is wrong or the CSS is wrong…

Oh sorry, I didn’t noticed that the dot baseline was different.

@kgrossjo is right, inspecting the DOM should be the first thing to try.
Also I would consider using the unicode hex form (\xC2\xB7) rather than · in the regexp string as grammars use oniguruma regexes and not JS ones (not sure about that, but at least you’ll make sure to avoid any encoding issues with your files).
The last thing would be to check whether you’re using the shadow DOM or not, if yes, the CSS rule you wrote won’t be able to target the created scope in the editor content, you should use atom-text-editor, atom-text-editor::shadow {...} instead.

I’m pretty certain that the grammars use the Oniguruma regular expressions too, not JS ones.