Error: spawn phpcs ENOENT

Just getting started with Atom and PHP and I’m getting this error every time I try to create/edit a .php document.

I have atom-autocomplete-php and Composer installed; when I setup Composer I got a message in Atom saying that it was installed correctly.

Any tips on how to resolve this?
Cheers,

Does the error happen when you disable the Composer package?

No, believe it or not, the errors ceased when I disabled linter-phpcs.

After posting, I disabled linter-phpcs and linter and tried to install phpcs again via ‘Homebrew’ following the tutorial by Jason Resnick -
https://rezzz.com/php-codesniffer-with-wordpress-coding-standards-and-atom/.

I’m new to Terminal andwas tracking along ok, but got stuck with filepaths, trying to link the ‘Wordpress Coding Standards’ ruleset to PHP Codesniffer. I used the wrong path and screwed it up. Despite uninstalling Homebrew and CS I’ve been unable to re-install either (keep getting errors).

Not sure what to try next to even return to the ‘baseline’ I had before opening Terminal.

What errors? Did you uninstall Homebrew according to the instructions? Why did you uninstall Homebrew?

Not sure what to try next to even return to the ‘baseline’ I had before opening Terminal.

If you’re working with the command line, you either have to back things up ahead of time or keep a record of exactly what you do if you think that you might want to undo it.

Yeah, got that; installing multiple “packages” and not fully understanding any of them, or the Terminal was a recipe for pain I could have done without. I just started to learn PHP this week and the concept of CodeSniffer/Atom and WP Coding Standards seems like a no-brainer for a newbie; but getting it all setup hasn’t been newbie friendly.

I really would like to get this going, so if you can see where I went wrong and have any suggestions, fantastic. Otherwise I’ll just run with Atom as is until my knowledge catches up.

Cheers, Paul