Encoding Error? Atom-specific

Hi,

I’m a Python noob. Trying to follow a tutorial but I came across this error, I think this is ATOM-specific because I tried the same script in IDLE and it was working fine. I really wanted to work with ATOM as I love the IDE over the others (tried Eclipse and PyCharm).

But I hope you could help me with this “encoding” error, I think.

1. What happens when you open the command prompt and type python C:\Programming\Codes\Py\BS4_Tut_1.py?

2. You can find the encoding on the right-hand side of the status bar. What does it say?

The encoding says UTF-8

What package are you using to execute the code? The fault may be in how it’s handling the file or sending that to the interpreter.

it’s script 3.14.1.

What would you suggest apart from this if this is the culprit?

In order to figure out why this is happening, we have to test the other options and see what’s different. As far as I know, atom-runner functions identically to script, so any difference in output would be surprising. hydrogen functions differently as I understand it, so it might work when the others don’t.

You’re right about one thing atom-runner behaves like script, they generated the same error. I see that hydrogen is cool because you can run the code inline, but I couldn’t get it to work, There isn’t enough information I can find… I just guessed that the way you execute it, is with a combination of a control key (CTRL or ALT or SHIFT, or any combination) and then ENTER? because in the demo it appears that he’s executing it without accessing any menu. Is there a pre-requisite for this to run? I’m getting this error - should I be installing iPython or Jupyter or both. tried google and youtube for some info but couldn’t find something that helps.