Electron Notifications Help

Hey everyone,

I am new to Electron and to the Atom Discussion page. I had a question regarding notifications through Electron. I have been trying to implement a local notification to test how the look and feel of notifications are in the framework. I keep receiving an error saying:

‘notifications is not defined at EventEmitter..’

Would anyone be able to post up a sample code of how a basic local notification works? Thanks for your help and time, I would really appreciate it.

-Alec

Which OS are you working on?
Notifications isn’t really supported for Windows just yet, and it’s somewhat limited for Linux, see this issue:

However, someone on this other issue says he found a way, using ipc:

webContents.executeJavascript(`
  ipc = require('ipc');
  Notification = function(title, options) {
    ipc.send('notify', {title: title, options: options});
  }
  Notification.permission = 'granted'
`

Not sure, worth trying?

Hey batjko,

Thanks for getting back to me. I will implement this and see what happens. I am running OS X

in which case you should be able to use the Web Notifications API:

Thanks for that. Im still receiving an error saying that Notification is not defined. Shouldn’t this already be built into the electron pre-built package? Thanks in advance

Could you show the code you’re using? It’s much easier for others to help you debug that way :wink:

haha yes I can!

var app= require(‘app’);

app.on(‘ready’, function(){

var BrowserWindow = require(‘browser-window’);
var win = new BrowserWindow({ width: 1150, height: 1920, show: false, ‘node-integration’: false });
win.on(‘closed’, function() {
win = null;
});
function spawnNotification (theBody, theIcon, theTitle){
var options = {
body : theBody,
icon : theIcon
}
var n = new Notification (theTitle, options);
}
win.loadUrl(‘https://app.sightplan.com’);
win.show();
spawnNotification(‘Test Notification’,’/Users/alecdilanchian/Desktop/test1/sightplan.png’, ‘Hello World!’);

})