Documentation for native UI elements

I’ve been developing for atom for 3+ years now. The APIs are always changing as the team continues to grow the editor and that is great. The problem is there are aspects of atom that are important for non-core team members developing new things for the editor. The biggest gap in documentation I think has been with UI elements. Since the initial steps to deprecate space-pen, the official docs on atom.io/docs have not included anything about how to use UI elements.

I’ve been frustrated about this for a while and haven’t a chance or investment to bring this up but now I’m working on an atom package full time and feeling the pain even more.

I’d be happy to help start this if someone points me in the right direction.

I agree that documentation about view elements is iffy. The best source is the etch documentation, but there are some gaps between where the Flight Manual leaves off and where the more technical docs expect you to be. I’m personally working on a project where I’ve had to cross that gap by myself, and it’s not inappropriate to describe it as a bit of a leap from one tree to another where there could easily be a walkable bridge. I haven’t had the time to distill my thoughts into new guidance for others, and I still don’t, but I’m completely down for working to lay some of the ropes for that bridge.

One important thing to keep in mind: any in-depth view tutorial should probably refer to etch, since it’s well-supported and lightweight, but it shouldn’t depend on a single library. Instead, it should focus on things like what the ViewRegistry is and how to think about serializing and deserializing when you have multiple views that get handled independently. Let’s start by making an outline. I’ll contribute those three points:

• WTF is etch?
  • What’s the ViewRegistry?
  • Advanced serialization.