Do you use Atom while hacking on the core editor?

I am really a newbie, so any help would be appreciated. :smile: My environment is Mac OS.

1. First of all, I downloaded atom in https://atom.io/, extracted it, and moved the application to my desktop. Then, I forked the atom repository, git cloned it, and ran script/build. This created an atom application as /Applications/Atom.app. I opened the atom application I moved to desktop and opened the cloned local atom repository in the editor. Then, I opened other atom application created in /Applications. I thought they would run as different instances independent of each other because they are two different application files, but they actually ran as one instance. They were just treated as different windows. How do you use Atom while hacking on the core editor?

2. It seems that every time I make changes to the core editor source code, I need to run script/build, but it is taking too long because the command reinstalls everything. Is there any way to make this faster or just build the core editor only?

3. After building atom, is there any difference between running atom.sh in my cloned git repository and running /Applications/Atom.app? Both starts up atom, but I am just curious…

Again, any help would be appreciated! :smiley:

Atom core development workflow?
Incremental build?
Running a hacked editor to experiment with mixed tab/space indent?
  1. At home, I only use built Atom. At work, I only use released Atom. In both cases, it is installed in my /Applications directory. Yes, I use built Atom to work on the core editor … along with everything else I code on at home.
  2. Obligatory “back in my day we walked to school in the snow uphill both ways” comment — I just timed a script/build with no modifications. It took less than a minute and a half. I don’t really think that’s terribly long. Are you doing a script/clean every time? Or something else that makes it have to rebuild everything?