Display a text file content into electron

Hello

I am new to electron. I have been trying to learn nodejs and have had some progress. I can open a text file stored in my project folder then get its content to print out to console.log();

I don’t know how to get it to print onto my electron index.html file. I am using a windows 10 machine. So I run the electron app by npm start index.html to start the app.

I tried module.exports = and it did not help the only thing it does is print the code out to read the text file.

Please provide some learning advice and instruction on solving this problem.

Mind sharing your code with us? It would be easier to help you if we can see what you’ve gotten done so far.

I would like to put all data in a drop down listbox. Populating the box will depend on this code. Right now I just want it show up correctly on the app

here is the code for the text file

var StrArry = [];

function myApp(){

var lineReader = require(‘readline’).createInterface({
input: require(‘fs’).createReadStream(‘text.txt’)
});

lineReader.on(‘line’, function (line) {
StrArry.push(line);
});

lineReader.on(‘close’, function (line) {

var Ncount = 0;
for(var x =0; x < StrArry.length; x++){
if (StrArry[x] == ‘cat’){

do { 
  Ncount +=1;    
  x +=1;
   if (StrArry[x] == "") {
       Ncount = 700;
    }

console.log(StrArry[x]);

} while (Ncount<700 );

}

}

});

}

module.exports = myApp;

Here is the .html file

Hello World!<br>
   <script>

var myApp = require('MyApp.js')

;

myApp();

document.write(myApp);
   </script>

</body>

MyApp should read myApp

Because you just posted the code into the forum (instead of using somewhere like GitHub) and didn’t put it all in code tags, it’s impossible for someone to replicate your exact circumstances. We don’t have your project.json still and we have to guess at the indentation you used. That said, I don’t think that’s your problem.