Directory structure questions about modules

I'm new to both Electron and Linux and so I believe my issues are a result of my ignorance of both. Coming from a Windows background I never realized how many things my OS was managing for me that Linux forces me to learn how to do manually.

I'm not sure but I don't think I'm managing my file system correctly. I have allowed npm and apt to install stuff in it's default locations and I believe that may have been a mistake. For starters, there is a folder in my home directory called node_modules and 2 files, one called package.json and package-lock.json that I think npm created when I installed a couple of electron modules, however; if I look in "usr/lib/nodejs/npm" there is a node_modules directory in there as well. I think I may have mistook how npm install is supposed to be used. Without thinking about it I deleted the package.json file in my home directory and now I get a series of warnings about a missing package.json file whenever a install a node module with npm.

Is the npm install command only supposed to be used when I'm working in the directory of an electron app I'm working on?

Should I be installing node modules in the "usr/lib/nodejs/npm/node_modules" directory?

Do I need to recreate the package.json file in my home directory?

Have I just made a big mess of everything?

Thanks,
    Mark

Since you are in Linux take advantage of its command line interface (cli).

You seem to be unaware that npm can install packages either globally or locally (e.g. in your Electron app).

If you look in your $HOME/.atom/packages directory (for example - ensuring that you view hidden files) every package contains its own local package.json and its own local node_modules folder. Same applies to Electron apps.