Custom Javascript block highlighting

Recently started using Atom so still getting things configured and generally lost in how to do so. I’m working on a platform that runs server side JS and the indicator for these blocks are <% %> rather than tags. I have the file type association using HTML style syntax highlighting but it won’t properly color these server side js blocks at all. How can I define that inside of <% %> should be treated like Javascript? Thanks!

Usually if atom doesn’t do something out-of-the-box, there’s a package you can install to do it. What JS server is your environment using? Search for a package using that name.

I believe it is using nodejs. Clearly I’m not an expert but I don’t really need new highlighting “rules” as the code is all just javascript. It’s just that the indicator that a block should be highlighted as javascript is not the “script” tags but <% %>. Maybe that doesn’t preclude a package from solving my issue but it feels like I just need to be able to say "treat <% as if it was ‘script’ " somewhere.

Thanks for your help.

Just realized that my less-than script greater-than is being stripped out of the post so some clarity issues exist in my posts…

You actually do need new highlighting rules. It’s easy to create a grammar that “wraps” an existing grammar like so and matches the syntax of the file overall, then switches to the embedded language when it gets there. I can help make this happen, but first: is the syntax of the overall file associated with any particular framework?