Custom Grammer using TextMate

Hello - I’m a total rookie when it comes to programming, but I’m doing a bit of scripting for a fairly unknown language. Therefore I’m trying to create my own grammar so that the code is highlighted properly.
I’ve looked through a few examples, and most of it is gibberish to me, because of the lack of programming knowledge, though, the basics seems rather simple.

In all the examples I found, there is always some weird characters showing up all over the place.
For example:

{
    contentName: 'entity.name.section'
    begin: '/*'
    end: '*/'
  }

In my eyes, /* this text would be selected, and therefore differently styled */.
However, it turns out the proper or at least working way to do this is as follows:

{
    contentName: 'entity.name.section'
    begin: '/\\*'
    end: '\\*/'
  }

What’s with these double-slashes in the middle of the string?
I’ve also seen double-slashes followed by the letter b - what’s the point of this?

{
    'match': '\\b([1-9]+[0-9]*|0)'
    'name': 'constant.numeric.integer.decimal'
  }

Is there somewhere where I can read and expand my knowledge on this?
Thank you.