Codeglance in atom

Hello! For complete happiness in atom I need 2 things: autocompletion and “like jetbrains” codeglance. Autocomplete is slowly but surelly becoming nice. So I would like to improve it with codeglance. I am new to atom api, so I need advice. Is it possible to render dynamic window (custom scale and position) with a part of main textfield of aso custom scale and position? Which api i need to check? Thanks!

The best thing you can do is find an existing package that looks like the one you want. You won’t be able to figure out what you need by just looking at the API.

By this I meant any package with a similar UI so you can steal a bunch of the code.

Sure, but among atom packages there is nothing like code glance. May be minimap. Of cource, I can scan text and “draw” codeglance like minimap, but its painfull, so I am looking for solution, to make a “little dynamic pane” with atom api if its possible.

I’m sure there are a lot of packages that do this. There are probably hundreds in the registry. My brain has shut down for the night but others might suggest packages for you.

BTW, what do you mean by a dynamic pane? Is this a pop-up dialog or pane like the mini-map pane? The mini-map type pane is quite easy to create. You can put any html you want in there. I don’t know if I’d call that “drawing”.

Hmm, so minimap renders itself from html (didn’t look code)… thats probably appropriate for task. Thank you!

From the jetbrains site:

Embeds a code minimap similar to the one found in Sublime into the editor pane. Works with both light and dark themes using your customized colors for syntax highlighting.

So the minimap package should be just what you’re looking for or is there anything I missed about codeglance that differs from ST/Atom minimaps?

Yep, codeglance is not only minimap, but also a a think which shows code in snapped-to-mouse window when mouse is over scrolling field or minimap area.