Changing syntax theme doesn't change text color

I’m a student who has been using Atom for a few weeks now for ruby homework and I’m definitely enjoying it.

Today I figured I’d explore some features a little more, but when I tried to change the syntax theme I found that the text colors stay the same. Or maybe more specifically the background color changes and the text color seems to be a slightly different version of the same set of colors? Almost like the background color is dictating the shade of the same color theme.

Now I know different themes are supposed to be radically different sets of colors so this seems like its working incorrectly. Here’s what I tried (im on OS X)

• Basic restarting of program/computer and installing of different themes
  • Complete reinstall of Atom including deletion of all appropriate hidden folders as found in a different Atom support thread

since the problem remains after a complete reinstall im totally baffled as to what could be going wrong. when i start up Atom i get this in the console but im not sure if theres any relation:

index.js:52 Window load time: 362ms
/Applications/Atom.app/Contents/Resources/app.asar/node_modules/space-pen/lib/space-pen.js:452 /deep/ combinator is deprecated. See https://www.chromestatus.com/features/6750456638341120 for more details.
/Users/distiller/atom/out/app/src/text-editor-component.coffee:978 ::shadow pseudo-element is deprecated. See https://www.chromestatus.com/features/6750456638341120 for more details.

any help would be greatly appreciated. I’d really love to try out some syntax themes and I feel totally lost on this

small extra note: the theme I think its “stuck” looks to be “one dark”

again the background color Does Change