Cannot run atom from Bash (Windows 10)

Hello!

I’ve been trying to run atom folder_name or file_name straight from command line (I am using Bash Ubuntu on Windows).
I am frustrated right now, because after 2 hours of research on the internet I couldn’t find any solution for my problem. I’ve tried reinstalling atom and Bash Ubuntu and nothing worked.
Every time I type “atom” in shell I get a prompt: “atom: command not found”.

I admit I am new to these things, but I had no problems with this using Windows 7. Is there anyone who could guide me through this problem or at least share with me a link to the solution since I am obviously a bad researcher for now… :frowning:

I am using Windows 10 and my Atom version is: 1.10.2

Regards,
xeho91

I think you have to install Atom in bash. As far as I’m aware, it’s treated as a separate environment, besides, your Atom install itself will be doing things the Windows way, not the Linux way.

Alternatively, I don’t know if maybe you can require it from its /mnt/c/wheres/my/atom/ location.

I tried installing Atom the Linux way (I used this as guide).

As in the following instructions I did use "$ sudo dpkg --install atom-amd64.deb"
I get the prompt:

(Reading database … 36376 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to unpack atom-amd64.deb …
Unpacking atom (0.141.0) …
dpkg: error processing archive atom-amd64.deb (–install):
trying to overwrite ‘/usr/bin/apm’, which is also in package apmd 3.2.2-14build1
Processing triggers for mime-support (3.54ubuntu1.1) …
Errors were encountered while processing:
atom-amd64.deb

Does this mean I have to uninstall Atom (the one installed the ‘Windows way’)?

Not at all, because you’re not running into a conflict with the Windows version of Atom. It’s a conflict with the Advanced Power Management binary, as described in this issue. You can safely uninstall apmd 3.2.2-14build1.

Alright, so I did uninstal the apmd using "$sudo apt-get remove apmd"