Cannot rebind "enter" key keybinding for editor use, please help

Hi there. For the purposes of help, Please know that I am a beginner with coding and atom and usually just use it for writing prose / other off-label usage.

I am attempting to rebind the ‘enter’ key so that instead of inserting a new line, it inserts

in my keymaps file, I have attempted to use both

‘atom-text-editor’:
‘enter’: ‘editor:

and

‘atom-workspace atom-text-editor:not([mini])’:
‘enter’: ‘editor:

but neither gives me the desired function.It just causes the enter key to stop working.

Any thoughts on how to achieve this? It really does have to be the enter key, unfortunately. I cannot just bind this functionality to another key, although that would be easier I am sure.

Thoughts?

Oh for—

Okay. apparently the message board stripped out text.

I am attempting to rebind the ‘enter’ key so that instead of inserting a new line, it inserts
<///br> (without the’///’)
in my keymaps file, I have attempted to use both

‘atom-text-editor’:
‘enter’: ‘editor:<///br>’

‘atom-workspace atom-text-editor:not([mini])’:
‘enter’: ‘editor:<///br>’

(again, without the’///’)

It’s not stripping out text, you’re typing in a markdown / HTML aware forum. Code should be guarded in ``` like this

```
paste the code here <p>so we can see it exactly as you have it</p>
```

Does it? It would be a whole lot easier to write out the document normally, then use ctrl-f and copy one of the newlines (drag the mouse from the end of one line to the beginning of the other), paste it into the find box, and replace with <br />.

Atom doesn’t have a default "insert the text after editor:" command and I’m not sure what documentation or tutorial you’re reading that has indicated to you that it works this way. If you want to create a command such as custom:insert-br, you can. That just takes a tiny amount of code in init.coffee:

atom.commands.add 'atom-text-editor', 'custom:insert-br', ->