Can you set multiple grammar/autocomplete rules for a filetype?

I’m trying to use Atom for writing Markdown files, which contains some raw HTML. Since I’m not an expert in HTML, I tend to constantly forget tags and their parameters, so I really like the features of the builtin autocomplete-plus for HTML, which lets you see the parameters, and also places them with tab.

Now onto my problem: I’m editing a Markdown file, and I would like the HTML autocomplete to turn on and help me with the tags when I’m writing HTML in the file. I can achieve this by setting the file language to HTML, but then I lose all Markdown syntax highlighting and every function from the Markdown plugins.

Is there a way I can enable both HTML and Markdown autocomplete and syntax highlighting for Markdown files?

Also, I have installed the language-markdown package, which says in the readme that it supports raw HTML if I have language-html grammar enabled. How can I enable that grammar for Markdown files? I have tried editing both the language-markdown files and the autocomplete-plus config files, but with the prior I didn’t manage to achieve anything, and with the latter, I couldn’t even find the config files. (Also, I’m not even a beginner when it comes to tinkering with Atom, so it is more than plausible that I messed something up)

Yes, Atom is capable of supporting multiple grammars or autocomplete providers on a single file type. You can see this in pretty much every grammar available since the language-hyperlink grammar injects itself into every other grammar to highlight URLs. Autocomplete providers have a similar system.