[C++] How to "dim" code based on preprocessor directives?

I am new to atom but i must say i love it ! I simply do not want to go back to another IDE now that i have used it for a week.

I am using it for “arduino” programming, however i have 2 issues:

1. i have not yet found a way to “dim” the code, based on preprocessor directives. Is there any way to do it ?

Image top left is what i want to achieve, and image right is what i get with Atom.

1. When i define a macro i would like the macro to keep the same “color” through the code but in Atom it stays white. Is there anything i can do to achieve this:

Image bottom left if want i want (with, in that case, VALUE colored even when used/passed through a function) and image bottom right is what i get with Atom.

Sorry for the “4 images in 1”, but as a new user i am only allowed to post one image per post it seems.

Maybe. Highlighting is dictated by the language package and the colors are determined by the syntax theme. It is possible to override some of this behavior, but for complete control you need to modify the packages. If you can give me a precise description of how a computer program would identify which characters should be dimmed, I can tell you what your options are.

When i define a macro i would like the macro to keep the same “color” through the code but in Atom it stays white.

This is impossible to do without interpreting the code, which Atom can’t do. It may be possible in the future since the language server protocol offers easy, cross-platform code interpreters, which would make it viable for editors like Atom to have an awareness of how the language works.

Thanks a lot for your answer DamnedScholar, i don’t think i am qualified enough to be able to “give a precise description of how a computer program would identify which characters should be dimmed” as for me it would be like :

#if True
Serial.print(“this line should NOT be dimmed”);
#else
Serial.print(“this line should be dimmed”);
#endif