Atom vs Sublime and PHPStorm for Front End Development

I really want to make the switch to Atom full time. I am a Front End developer that mainly build sites using a CMS such as Craft or ExpressionEngine. Rarely do I Code in PHP but sometimes I may need it. I mainly work in HTML, TWIG, SCSS.

I have PHPStorm and it seems like overkill for my needs. I love the integrated terminal and linters.

Sublime is fast but seems very basic. Many plugins are no longer in development.

Is Atom a good choice or should I stick with PHPStorm or Sublime? Looks for some real advice from fellow devs. What you all using? Why you like one better than the other.

Asking here, you’re likely to get a lot of answers from people predisposed to prefer Atom. Like me: I’m a dabbler with small-scale projects across a number of languages and also prose. I’m always going to choose an open-source program over an equivalent proprietary program, and I like having tools that I can easily configure to serve different purposes. This was all true before I discovered Atom, and it was purely luck that I stumbled on to a perfect editor for me. Since I have some background in web sites, an editor rendered in HTML and CSS makes a lot of sense to me, and learning Atom has made my JavaScript a lot better. It’s so nice to have a program where, if I have a problem, I can fix it myself or I can use someone else’s fix. And that’s intentionally designed into the editor. If you don’t like the default find-and-replace, you can replace it with one that works differently.

Atom doesn’t have any ability to execute code that isn’t JavaScript, but the amount of utility packed into its Node.JS heart allows for just about any automation you want to perform, if it can be issued through command-line instructions. So people have made packages to interface with external compilers, interpreters, and linters. Atom doesn’t have any knowledge of FTP servers, but there are Node packages for most things.