Atom Portable

Hi guys,

I am new to Atom and I love the style, so I would like to make this IDE my primary development center.

That said, I have downloaded this Atom version: https://github.com/atom/atom/releases/download/v1.0.3/atom-windows.zip because I have been told that it is the portable version.

I would like to confirm with you guys if this version and in this case this particularly link corresponds to the portable version of the Atom.

If it is the portable version of the Atom, I would like to know if in case I want to install any package this package will be stored in the Atom portable folder or it will be installed somewhere in the computer?

Since I have tried to install some packages without success (an error like timout or so happens; I should say that I am working behind a proxy) how can I install manually some packages?

Regards.

Atom always stores config files and packages in the current user’s directory, so it is not what you would call “portable”…

Thanks for the reply. This means that that link is not the Atom’s Portable Version? So there is no Atom Portable version?

The link is a precompiled version of Atom which can be used whenever you don’t want additions to your registry.

I see. What would you suggest? To use an installed version of Atom or this kind of “version”?

Regards.

Well, it all depends on your necessities: I would go for the installer because it automatically adds atom’s commands into the PATH and inserts the “open in atom” entry into windows explorer contextual menu.

Okay. I will go with the installer version.

Thank you for the help.

I forgot to ask you. What about the packages?

How can I install them manually? For example, I have download from GitHub the “atom-beautify-master” package and I have copied the folder to atom\packages, because there, it is a file saying that all the packages that one put there can be used in Atom. But I get a red window saying that there is some errors.

What I am doing wrong?