Atom / platform.io : no ctags navigation on Arduino sources

Quick intro: total newbie to Atom (1.25.0 x64) / Platform (3.5.3a8) / Arduino. Using Debian Stable with the exuberant-ctags package installed and "ctags -R " has been run at the top of the project tree.
Also, I had a halfway decent knowledge of C / C++ in a previous life as a student.

Searched for ctags here but I’m still unsure if I am having the same issues or not. From what I remember, ctags is supposed to show symbols and enable navigation to / from definition… at lease this is what atom-ctags promises.

Issue no.1) I have two similar entries in the context menu when I right-click on a symbol, slightly different spelling (“Goto Declaration”, bound to F3, and “Go to Declaration”, unbound), neither of which seems to do much. It doesn’t matter whether I activate the command from the beginning, the middle or the end of the symbol.

Issue no. 2) this is actually my goal: being able to jump from a function call to its definition. If this is merely a special case of no.1, then it also doesn’t work here. If this is something different, my question becomes: “is this at all supported?”

Thanks in advance for your help.
Regards,
Andrea

Based on https://github.com/platformio/platformio-atom-ide/issues/128, this looks like it’s provided by the platformio-atom-ide package, are you using that package to work with Arduino? If so, I’d suggest reaching out to the PlatformIO community, they have a message board here:

This is from Atom’s Symbols View:

https://flight-manual.atom.io/using-atom/sections/moving-in-atom/#navigating-by-symbols

Not sure if anyone else has more experience using it that can chime in but I’ve only used it on super simple single files and it’s worked ok - would you be able to share your project so I can give it a try?

Hi, Robert.

Yes, I am using Platform.io to work on Arduino. I’ll try and post the question on their own board.