Atom editor width

I’m new to Atom, but it seems to be the most worthy and accurate mmd editor. I find a weirdness that’s particularly vexing when making wide tables.

On an imac, I find that when I bring up a file, old or new, the line width is full window worth for an instant and then immediately shrinks to a width that I don’t believe I set. I set preferred line length to be 500 in order to be sure that’s not it.

When I toggle soft wrap off, this windowing happens and a horizontal scroll bar appears and I must use that to see a formatted table. I typically use markdown writer, but it’s not dependent on that.

I must be missing something but I can’t figure it out. I’m exclusively on new imacs and am using Atom 1.23.3x64 and markdown writer 2.7,3, which I don’t blame.

Any suggestions would be welcome.

thanks

I am having difficulty following your explanation - sorry.

Somehow I think it is a line ending issue. Do you know what character(s) make up your line endings? Bottom right has a indicator for that (LF / CRLF).

Could you post a picture perhaps?

Sorry. Here are two screen shots. One has soft wrap on and you can see that the table is messed up as you’d expect. I don’t know what is governing the width of the editor window here. I’ve intentionally shown a lot of the un-used real estate.

The second figure (next post) is with soft wrap off and I’ve intentionally scooted the window contents so that you can see the horizontal scroll bar and the cut-off of content at both edges of this “artificial” window width.

Does that help? I hope the images are properly uploaded…I could not upload 2 images in one post, so the second image is in the next reply.

thanks

here is that second image with that explanatory paragraph repeated:

The second figure (next post) is with soft wrap off and I’ve intentionally scooted the window contents so that you can see the horizontal scroll bar and the cut-off of content at both edges of this “artificial” window width.