Atom doesn't start in Ubuntu 18.04.5 LTS

Hi everyone,
I’ve been using Atom for a few years
This is my OS: Ubuntu 18.04.5 LTS

Atom has not opened for about 10 days. I click the button to launch the application but nothing happens. I have already tried to delete and reinstall Atom via the terminal. The problem persists.

Do you have any suggestions or indications for me?
Thanks

1 Like

If you search the net you will find other users (going back nearly two years) citing that some apps have stopped running on Ubuntu 18.04.

I would first try an upgrade of 18.04.

Failing that (18.04 is now dated), I would consider upgrading to Ubuntu 20.04 (but that is a significant task to undertake). If you have a flash USB drive where you can install 20.04 using Ubuntu app mkusb you can “try” running Ubuntu 20.04 in your PC to see if you have enough steam power in your PC. Better to install on a fresh partition or drive and fall back to 18.04 if you hit problems. Explore ubuntuforums.org for advice on this. You could dual boot between 18.04 and 20.04 as another scenario. I would keep 18.04 and 20.04 on different drives (I have two external SSD’s in a docking bay) but they can be on different partitions if you only have one drive.

Of course, this could all be overkill. Before embarking on this journey try creating a new guest account in 18.04 and install Atom. It might be something very basic.

I am on Ubuntu 20.04.

1 Like

So basically, the reason why Atom doesn’t work anymore is because the latest application has conflicts with Ubuntu 18.04
If I remove Atom and install one of the previous Atom version can I potentially solve the problem?

1 Like

I have no idea. If you try my suggestion to create a separate user account in 18.04 you can install an earlier version of Atom there and answer your question.

1 Like

You posted and then it was withdrawn but I had a few seconds to read it briefly so will answer.