Atom crashing on Mac OS versions prior to 10.12

Hi! I just bought a MacBook Pro 2012 (10.10.5) for programming (I really hope this was a good idea). Ok my problem is that when I try to save a file with the “.html” atom crashes and it shows “The editor has crashed Please report this issue to https://github.com/atom/atom”, and well I’m here asking for help, anyone? :´(.
posdata, I’m a noob.

also my atom it´s “v1.39.0-beta0 (2019-06-11)”

Eh. If all you’re doing is coding, you don’t need to pay Apple’s prices for a computer. Unless you’re into Xcode, anything you get from using a Mac you can also get from using Linux. Windows doesn’t have as much built in, but a savvy user can easily set up all the necessary tools. So it really doesn’t matter, but Apple price-gouges on everything they sell because they’re more of a fashion company. You’ll look really stylish with your MacBook. :slight_smile:

Does the problem only happen with HTML files? What happens when you start Atom from the Terminal with atom --safe?

also my atom it´s “v1.39.0-beta0 (2019-06-11)”

What happens when you install the non-beta version?

Thanks for the quick replay!
I’m not really interested in what apple can offer, but the computer was at a very good price. I’m starting to learn how to code in Javascript, so yeah not using Xcode really.

I’m new in all this, so the only type of files I had try to use are HTML, but actually when I save with out the “.html” the document saves and opens with no problem.

This is what appears when I start Atom from the terminal
MacBook-Pro-de-UserFind:~ MacbookPRO$ atom --safe

-bash: atom: command not found

I don’t get why I thought I was using v1.39.0 beta, the truth is that I’m using the v 1.38.0 lol.

Shell commands for mac need to be installed via the Atom > Install shell commands (or similar) tab in the top bar.

2 Likes