Atom BBCode Preview

To make this simple, all I want to do is be able to preview BBCode in Atom. It doesn’t have to be live, but that would be nice. I am kind of familiar with HTML, but I don’t care if I use the formatting for it or not - the main thing is BBCode.

I have downloaded some packages, but none of them are able to do this that I have been able to figure out.

I found this link that I thought would be my solution, but I don’t know how to implement source code into Atom. GitHub confuses the hell out of me.

If anyone has a solution I would be grateful.

I moved the downloaded files from the above link to (C:\Users\Owner.atom\packages) and it shows up in installed packages in Atom now, but I can’t figure out how to make it show the preview.

I have the package that allows BBCode to be used in Atom if I change the document to .bb but using that or .html doesn’t make it preview.

I don’t know how to make it work.

Nevermind, when I restarted Atom, it shows I am missing fs-plus from that package.

[Enter steps to reproduce:]

Atom: 1.34.0 x64
Electron: 2.0.16
OS: Microsoft Windows 10 Home
Thrown From: bbcode-preview package 0.0.1

Stack Trace

Failed to activate the bbcode-preview package

At Cannot find module 'fs-plus'

Error: Cannot find module 'fs-plus'
    at Module._resolveFilename (module.js:543:15)
    at Module._resolveFilename (~/AppData/Local/atom/app-1.34.0/resources/electron.asar/common/reset-search-paths.js:35:12)
    at Function.get_Module._resolveFilename (~/AppData/Local/atom/app-1.34.0/resources/app/static/<embedded>:11:154667)
    at Module.require (/app.asar/static/index.js:40:43)
    at require (~/AppData/Local/atom/app-1.34.0/resources/app/static/<embedded>:11:145974)
    at /packages/bbcode-preview-master/lib/main.coffee:2:6)
    at /packages/bbcode-preview-master/lib/main.coffee:1:1)
    at /packages/bbcode-preview-master/lib/main.coffee:1:1)
    at Module.get_Module._compile (~/AppData/Local/atom/app-1.34.0/resources/app/static/<embedded>:11:146684)
    at Object.value [as .coffee] (~/AppData/Local/atom/app-1.34.0/resources/app/static/<embedded>:11:150231)
    at Module.load (module.js:561:32)
    at tryModuleLoad (module.js:504:12)
    at Function.Module._load (module.js:496:3)
    at Module.require (/app.asar/static/index.js:47:45)
    at require (internal/module.js:11:18)
    at customRequire (~/AppData/Local/atom/app-1.34.0/resources/app/static/<embedded>:1:641362)
    at Package.requireMainModule (~/AppData/Local/atom/app-1.34.0/resources/app/static/<embedded>:11:3029314)
    at Package.activateNow (~/AppData/Local/atom/app-1.34.0/resources/app/static/<embedded>:11:3017448)
    at measure (~/AppData/Local/atom/app-1.34.0/resources/app/static/<embedded>:11:3017226)
    at Package.measure (~/AppData/Local/atom/app-1.34.0/resources/app/static/<embedded>:11:3014857)
    at activationPromise.activationPromise.Promise (~/AppData/Local/atom/app-1.34.0/resources/app/static/<embedded>:11:3017086)
    at new Promise (<anonymous>)
    at Package.activate (~/AppData/Local/atom/app-1.34.0/resources/app/static/<embedded>:11:3017029)
    at PackageManager.activatePackage (~/AppData/Local/atom/app-1.34.0/resources/app/static/<embedded>:11:382643)
    at config.transactAsync (~/AppData/Local/atom/app-1.34.0/resources/app/static/<embedded>:11:382259)
    at Config.transactAsync (~/AppData/Local/atom/app-1.34.0/resources/app/static/<embedded>:11:332443)
    at PackageManager.activatePackages (~/AppData/Local/atom/app-1.34.0/resources/app/static/<embedded>:11:382209)
    at PackageManager.activate (~/AppData/Local/atom/app-1.34.0/resources/app/static/<embedded>:11:381827)
    at t.loadState.then (~/AppData/Local/atom/app-1.34.0/resources/app/static/<embedded>:1:662772)
    at <anonymous>

Commands

Non-Core Packages

asciidoc-preview 2.12.2 
atom-html-preview 0.2.6 
bbcode-preview 0.0.1 
browser-plus 0.0.98 
language-bbcode 0.1.1 
language-bbcode-and-syntax-highlight 1.0.5 
preview 0.19.0 
preview-plus 1.2.7 

You need to move the folder you created to somewhere else on your computer (anywhere, but preferably where you keep your personal code files; I recommend starting a folder under github/atom/bbcode-preview/ to hold any GitHub repos and Atom packages you might download in the future), then open a command line window. Navigate to wherever you put bbcode-preview and run apm link and apm install. You’re done.

I moved that folder to where you suggested and downloaded a terminal package. I assume if I go to (File-Open Folder) and navigate to where I moved the file then run the apm link and install commands should work?

I tried this and everything seemed as if it was working, but I got an error but it won’t allow me to upload the debug log here.

This is the log:

0 info it worked if it ends with ok
1 verbose cli [ 'C:\\Users\\Owner\\AppData\\Local\\atom\\app-1.34.0\\resources\\app\\apm\\bin\\node.exe',
1 verbose cli   'C:\\Users\\Owner\\AppData\\Local\\atom\\app-1.34.0\\resources\\app\\apm\\node_modules\\npm\\bin\\npm-cli.js',
1 verbose cli   '--globalconfig',
1 verbose cli   'C:\\Users\\Owner\\.atom\\.apm\\.apmrc',
1 verbose cli   '--userconfig',
1 verbose cli   'C:\\Users\\Owner\\.atom\\.apmrc',
1 verbose cli   'install',
1 verbose cli   '--runtime=electron',
1 verbose cli   '--target=2.0.16',
1 verbose cli   '--dist-url=https://atom.io/download/electron',
1 verbose cli   '--arch=x64' ]
2 info using npm@6.2.0
3 info using node@v8.9.3
4 verbose npm-session 594803976de609ad
5 silly install runPreinstallTopLevelLifecycles
6 silly preinstall bbcode-preview@0.0.1
7 info lifecycle bbcode-preview@0.0.1~preinstall: bbcode-preview@0.0.1
8 silly install loadCurrentTree
9 silly install readLocalPackageData
10 timing stage:loadCurrentTree Completed in 154ms
11 silly install loadIdealTree
12 silly install cloneCurrentTreeToIdealTree
13 timing stage:loadIdealTree:cloneCurrentTree Completed in 1ms
14 silly install loadShrinkwrap
15 timing stage:loadIdealTree:loadShrinkwrap Completed in 38ms
16 silly install loadAllDepsIntoIdealTree
17 http fetch GET 304 https://registry.npmjs.org/highlights 11620ms (from cache)
18 silly pacote range manifest for highlights@^3.0.1 fetched in 11632ms
19 http fetch GET 304 https://registry.npmjs.org/first-mate 122ms (from cache)
20 silly pacote range manifest for first-mate@^7.0.2 fetched in 124ms
21 http fetch GET 304 https://registry.npmjs.org/oniguruma 118ms (from cache)
22 silly pacote version manifest for oniguruma@7.0.2 fetched in 120ms
23 http fetch GET 304 https://registry.npmjs.org/nan 101ms (from cache)
24 silly pacote range manifest for nan@^2.10.0 fetched in 102ms
25 silly pacote range manifest for highlights@^3.0.1 fetched in 2ms
26 silly resolveWithNewModule highlights@3.1.1 checking installable status
27 silly pacote range manifest for first-mate@^7.0.2 fetched in 1ms
28 silly resolveWithNewModule first-mate@7.1.3 checking installable status
29 silly pacote version manifest for oniguruma@7.0.2 fetched in 1ms
30 silly resolveWithNewModule oniguruma@7.0.2 checking installable status
31 silly pacote range manifest for nan@^2.10.0 fetched in 1ms
32 silly resolveWithNewModule nan@2.12.1 checking installable status
33 timing stage:loadIdealTree:loadAllDepsIntoIdealTree Completed in 12203ms
34 timing stage:loadIdealTree Completed in 12267ms
35 silly currentTree bbcode-preview@0.0.1
35 silly currentTree +-- ansi-regex@2.1.1
35 silly currentTree +-- async@1.5.2
35 silly currentTree +-- balanced-match@1.0.0
35 silly currentTree +-- bitter-bbcode@0.0.1
35 silly currentTree +-- brace-expansion@1.1.11
35 silly currentTree +-- builtin-modules@1.1.1
35 silly currentTree +-- camelcase@2.1.1
35 silly currentTree +-- cheerio@0.15.0
35 silly currentTree +-- cliui@3.2.0
35 silly currentTree +-- code-point-at@1.1.0
35 silly currentTree +-- coffee-script@1.12.7
35 silly currentTree +-- coffeelint@1.16.2
35 silly currentTree | `-- coffee-script@1.11.1
35 silly currentTree +-- concat-map@0.0.1
35 silly currentTree +-- core-util-is@1.0.2
35 silly currentTree +-- cson-parser@1.3.5
35 silly currentTree +-- CSSselect@0.4.1
35 silly currentTree +-- CSSwhat@0.4.7
35 silly currentTree +-- d@0.1.1
35 silly currentTree +-- decamelize@1.2.0
35 silly currentTree +-- dom-serializer@0.1.0
35 silly currentTree | +-- domelementtype@1.1.3
35 silly currentTree | `-- entities@1.1.2
35 silly currentTree +-- domelementtype@1.3.1
35 silly currentTree +-- domhandler@2.2.1
35 silly currentTree +-- domutils@1.4.3
35 silly currentTree +-- emissary@1.3.3
35 silly currentTree +-- entities@1.0.0
35 silly currentTree +-- error-ex@1.3.2
35 silly currentTree +-- es5-ext@0.10.47
35 silly currentTree | +-- d@1.0.0
35 silly currentTree | +-- es6-iterator@2.0.3
35 silly currentTree | `-- es6-symbol@3.1.1
35 silly currentTree +-- es6-iterator@0.1.3
35 silly currentTree +-- es6-symbol@2.0.1
35 silly currentTree +-- es6-weak-map@0.1.4
35 silly currentTree +-- event-kit@2.5.3
35 silly currentTree +-- find-up@1.1.2
35 silly currentTree +-- first-mate-select-grammar@1.0.2
35 silly currentTree | `-- lodash@4.17.11
35 silly currentTree +-- fs-plus@3.1.1
35 silly currentTree +-- fs.realpath@1.0.0
35 silly currentTree +-- get-caller-file@1.0.3
35 silly currentTree +-- glob@7.1.3
35 silly currentTree +-- graceful-fs@4.1.15
35 silly currentTree +-- grim@2.0.2
35 silly currentTree +-- hosted-git-info@2.7.1
35 silly currentTree +-- htmlparser2@3.7.3
35 silly currentTree | `-- domutils@1.5.1
35 silly currentTree +-- ignore@3.3.10
35 silly currentTree +-- inflight@1.0.6
35 silly currentTree +-- inherits@2.0.3
35 silly currentTree +-- invert-kv@1.0.0
35 silly currentTree +-- is-arrayish@0.2.1
35 silly currentTree +-- is-builtin-module@1.0.0
35 silly currentTree +-- is-fullwidth-code-point@1.0.0
35 silly currentTree +-- is-utf8@0.2.1
35 silly currentTree +-- isarray@0.0.1
35 silly currentTree +-- lcid@1.0.0
35 silly currentTree +-- load-json-file@1.1.0
35 silly currentTree +-- lodash.assign@4.2.0
35 silly currentTree +-- lodash@2.4.2
35 silly currentTree +-- minimatch@3.0.4
35 silly currentTree +-- minimist@0.0.8
35 silly currentTree +-- mixto@1.0.0
35 silly currentTree +-- mkdirp@0.5.1
35 silly currentTree +-- next-tick@1.0.0
35 silly currentTree +-- normalize-package-data@2.4.0
35 silly currentTree +-- number-is-nan@1.0.1
35 silly currentTree +-- once@1.4.0
35 silly currentTree +-- optimist@0.6.1
35 silly currentTree +-- os-locale@1.4.0
35 silly currentTree +-- os-tmpdir@1.0.2
35 silly currentTree +-- parse-json@2.2.0
35 silly currentTree +-- path-exists@2.1.0
35 silly currentTree +-- path-is-absolute@1.0.1
35 silly currentTree +-- path-type@1.1.0
35 silly currentTree +-- pify@2.3.0
35 silly currentTree +-- pinkie-promise@2.0.1
35 silly currentTree +-- pinkie@2.0.4
35 silly currentTree +-- property-accessors@1.1.3
35 silly currentTree +-- read-pkg-up@1.0.1
35 silly currentTree +-- read-pkg@1.1.0
35 silly currentTree +-- readable-stream@1.1.14
35 silly currentTree +-- require-directory@2.1.1
35 silly currentTree +-- require-main-filename@1.0.1
35 silly currentTree +-- resolve@0.6.3
35 silly currentTree +-- rimraf@2.6.3
35 silly currentTree +-- season@6.0.2
35 silly currentTree | `-- yargs@3.32.0
35 silly currentTree +-- semver@5.6.0
35 silly currentTree +-- set-blocking@2.0.0
35 silly currentTree +-- spdx-correct@3.1.0
35 silly currentTree +-- spdx-exceptions@2.2.0
35 silly currentTree +-- spdx-expression-parse@3.0.0
35 silly currentTree +-- spdx-license-ids@3.0.3
35 silly currentTree +-- string_decoder@0.10.31
35 silly currentTree +-- string-width@1.0.2
35 silly currentTree +-- strip-ansi@3.0.1
35 silly currentTree +-- strip-bom@2.0.0
35 silly currentTree +-- strip-json-comments@1.0.4
35 silly currentTree +-- temp@0.8.3
35 silly currentTree | `-- rimraf@2.2.8
35 silly currentTree +-- underscore-plus@1.6.8
35 silly currentTree +-- underscore@1.8.3
35 silly currentTree +-- validate-npm-package-license@3.0.4
35 silly currentTree +-- which-module@1.0.0
35 silly currentTree +-- window-size@0.1.4
35 silly currentTree +-- wordwrap@0.0.3
35 silly currentTree +-- wrap-ansi@2.1.0
35 silly currentTree +-- wrappy@1.0.2
35 silly currentTree +-- wrench@1.5.9
35 silly currentTree +-- y18n@3.2.1
35 silly currentTree +-- yargs-parser@2.4.1
35 silly currentTree | `-- camelcase@3.0.0
35 silly currentTree `-- yargs@4.8.1
35 silly currentTree   `-- window-size@0.2.0
36 silly idealTree bbcode-preview@0.0.1
36 silly idealTree +-- ansi-regex@2.1.1
36 silly idealTree +-- async@1.5.2
36 silly idealTree +-- balanced-match@1.0.0
36 silly idealTree +-- bitter-bbcode@0.0.1
36 silly idealTree +-- brace-expansion@1.1.11
36 silly idealTree +-- builtin-modules@1.1.1
36 silly idealTree +-- camelcase@2.1.1
36 silly idealTree +-- cheerio@0.15.0
36 silly idealTree +-- cliui@3.2.0
36 silly idealTree +-- code-point-at@1.1.0
36 silly idealTree +-- coffee-script@1.12.7
36 silly idealTree +-- coffeelint@1.16.2
36 silly idealTree | `-- coffee-script@1.11.1
36 silly idealTree +-- concat-map@0.0.1
36 silly idealTree +-- core-util-is@1.0.2
36 silly idealTree +-- cson-parser@1.3.5
36 silly idealTree +-- CSSselect@0.4.1
36 silly idealTree +-- CSSwhat@0.4.7
36 silly idealTree +-- d@0.1.1
36 silly idealTree +-- decamelize@1.2.0
36 silly idealTree +-- dom-serializer@0.1.0
36 silly idealTree | +-- domelementtype@1.1.3
36 silly idealTree | `-- entities@1.1.2
36 silly idealTree +-- domelementtype@1.3.1
36 silly idealTree +-- domhandler@2.2.1
36 silly idealTree +-- domutils@1.4.3
36 silly idealTree +-- emissary@1.3.3
36 silly idealTree +-- entities@1.0.0
36 silly idealTree +-- error-ex@1.3.2
36 silly idealTree +-- es5-ext@0.10.47
36 silly idealTree | +-- d@1.0.0
36 silly idealTree | +-- es6-iterator@2.0.3
36 silly idealTree | `-- es6-symbol@3.1.1
36 silly idealTree +-- es6-iterator@0.1.3
36 silly idealTree +-- es6-symbol@2.0.1
36 silly idealTree +-- es6-weak-map@0.1.4
36 silly idealTree +-- event-kit@2.5.3
36 silly idealTree +-- find-up@1.1.2
36 silly idealTree +-- first-mate-select-grammar@1.0.2
36 silly idealTree | `-- lodash@4.17.11
36 silly idealTree +-- first-mate@7.1.3
36 silly idealTree +-- fs-plus@3.1.1
36 silly idealTree +-- fs.realpath@1.0.0
36 silly idealTree +-- get-caller-file@1.0.3
36 silly idealTree +-- glob@7.1.3
36 silly idealTree +-- graceful-fs@4.1.15
36 silly idealTree +-- grim@2.0.2
36 silly idealTree +-- highlights@3.1.1
36 silly idealTree +-- hosted-git-info@2.7.1
36 silly idealTree +-- htmlparser2@3.7.3
36 silly idealTree | `-- domutils@1.5.1
36 silly idealTree +-- ignore@3.3.10
36 silly idealTree +-- inflight@1.0.6
36 silly idealTree +-- inherits@2.0.3
36 silly idealTree +-- invert-kv@1.0.0
36 silly idealTree +-- is-arrayish@0.2.1
36 silly idealTree +-- is-builtin-module@1.0.0
36 silly idealTree +-- is-fullwidth-code-point@1.0.0
36 silly idealTree +-- is-utf8@0.2.1
36 silly idealTree +-- isarray@0.0.1
36 silly idealTree +-- lcid@1.0.0
36 silly idealTree +-- load-json-file@1.1.0
36 silly idealTree +-- lodash.assign@4.2.0
36 silly idealTree +-- lodash@2.4.2
36 silly idealTree +-- minimatch@3.0.4
36 silly idealTree +-- minimist@0.0.8
36 silly idealTree +-- mixto@1.0.0
36 silly idealTree +-- mkdirp@0.5.1
36 silly idealTree +-- nan@2.12.1
36 silly idealTree +-- next-tick@1.0.0
36 silly idealTree +-- normalize-package-data@2.4.0
36 silly idealTree +-- number-is-nan@1.0.1
36 silly idealTree +-- once@1.4.0
36 silly idealTree +-- oniguruma@7.0.2
36 silly idealTree +-- optimist@0.6.1
36 silly idealTree +-- os-locale@1.4.0
36 silly idealTree +-- os-tmpdir@1.0.2
36 silly idealTree +-- parse-json@2.2.0
36 silly idealTree +-- path-exists@2.1.0
36 silly idealTree +-- path-is-absolute@1.0.1
36 silly idealTree +-- path-type@1.1.0
36 silly idealTree +-- pify@2.3.0
36 silly idealTree +-- pinkie-promise@2.0.1
36 silly idealTree +-- pinkie@2.0.4
36 silly idealTree +-- property-accessors@1.1.3
36 silly idealTree +-- read-pkg-up@1.0.1
36 silly idealTree +-- read-pkg@1.1.0
36 silly idealTree +-- readable-stream@1.1.14
36 silly idealTree +-- require-directory@2.1.1
36 silly idealTree +-- require-main-filename@1.0.1
36 silly idealTree +-- resolve@0.6.3
36 silly idealTree +-- rimraf@2.6.3
36 silly idealTree +-- season@6.0.2
36 silly idealTree | `-- yargs@3.32.0
36 silly idealTree +-- semver@5.6.0
36 silly idealTree +-- set-blocking@2.0.0
36 silly idealTree +-- spdx-correct@3.1.0
36 silly idealTree +-- spdx-exceptions@2.2.0
36 silly idealTree +-- spdx-expression-parse@3.0.0
36 silly idealTree +-- spdx-license-ids@3.0.3
36 silly idealTree +-- string_decoder@0.10.31
36 silly idealTree +-- string-width@1.0.2
36 silly idealTree +-- strip-ansi@3.0.1
36 silly idealTree +-- strip-bom@2.0.0
36 silly idealTree +-- strip-json-comments@1.0.4
36 silly idealTree +-- temp@0.8.3
36 silly idealTree | `-- rimraf@2.2.8
36 silly idealTree +-- underscore-plus@1.6.8
36 silly idealTree +-- underscore@1.8.3
36 silly idealTree +-- validate-npm-package-license@3.0.4
36 silly idealTree +-- which-module@1.0.0
36 silly idealTree +-- window-size@0.1.4
36 silly idealTree +-- wordwrap@0.0.3
36 silly idealTree +-- wrap-ansi@2.1.0
36 silly idealTree +-- wrappy@1.0.2
36 silly idealTree +-- wrench@1.5.9
36 silly idealTree +-- y18n@3.2.1
36 silly idealTree +-- yargs-parser@2.4.1
36 silly idealTree | `-- camelcase@3.0.0
36 silly idealTree `-- yargs@4.8.1
36 silly idealTree   `-- window-size@0.2.0
37 silly install generateActionsToTake
38 timing stage:generateActionsToTake Completed in 7ms
39 silly diffTrees action count 4
40 silly diffTrees add nan@2.12.1
41 silly diffTrees add oniguruma@7.0.2
42 silly diffTrees add first-mate@7.1.3
43 silly diffTrees add highlights@3.1.1
44 silly decomposeActions action count 32
45 silly decomposeActions fetch nan@2.12.1
46 silly decomposeActions extract nan@2.12.1
47 silly decomposeActions preinstall nan@2.12.1
48 silly decomposeActions build nan@2.12.1
49 silly decomposeActions install nan@2.12.1
50 silly decomposeActions postinstall nan@2.12.1
51 silly decomposeActions finalize nan@2.12.1
52 silly decomposeActions refresh-package-json nan@2.12.1
53 silly decomposeActions fetch oniguruma@7.0.2
54 silly decomposeActions extract oniguruma@7.0.2
55 silly decomposeActions preinstall oniguruma@7.0.2
56 silly decomposeActions build oniguruma@7.0.2
57 silly decomposeActions install oniguruma@7.0.2
58 silly decomposeActions postinstall oniguruma@7.0.2
59 silly decomposeActions finalize oniguruma@7.0.2
60 silly decomposeActions refresh-package-json oniguruma@7.0.2
61 silly decomposeActions fetch first-mate@7.1.3
62 silly decomposeActions extract first-mate@7.1.3
63 silly decomposeActions preinstall first-mate@7.1.3
64 silly decomposeActions build first-mate@7.1.3
65 silly decomposeActions install first-mate@7.1.3
66 silly decomposeActions postinstall first-mate@7.1.3
67 silly decomposeActions finalize first-mate@7.1.3
68 silly decomposeActions refresh-package-json first-mate@7.1.3
69 silly decomposeActions fetch highlights@3.1.1
70 silly decomposeActions extract highlights@3.1.1
71 silly decomposeActions preinstall highlights@3.1.1
72 silly decomposeActions build highlights@3.1.1
73 silly decomposeActions install highlights@3.1.1
74 silly decomposeActions postinstall highlights@3.1.1
75 silly decomposeActions finalize highlights@3.1.1
76 silly decomposeActions refresh-package-json highlights@3.1.1
77 silly install executeActions
78 silly doSerial global-install 32
79 verbose correctMkdir C:\Users\Owner\.atom\.apm\_locks correctMkdir not in flight; initializing
80 timing audit compress Completed in 1ms
81 info audit Submitting payload of 6800bytes
82 verbose lock using C:\Users\Owner\.atom\.apm\_locks\staging-5550ea0c00188148.lock for C:\Users\Owner\Documents\GitHub\Atom\bbcode-preview-master\node_modules\.staging
83 silly doParallel extract 4
84 silly extract nan@2.12.1
85 silly extract oniguruma@7.0.2
86 silly extract first-mate@7.1.3
87 silly extract highlights@3.1.1
88 silly tarball trying nan@^2.10.0 by hash: sha512-JY7V6lRkStKcKTvHO5NVSQRv+RV+FIL5pvDoLiAtSL9pKlC5x9PKQcZDsq7m4FO4d57mkhC6Z+QhAh3Jdk5JFw==
89 silly tarball trying oniguruma@7.0.2 by hash: sha512-zCsdNxTrrB4yVPMxhcIODGv1p4NVBu9WvsWnIGhMpu5djO4MQWXrC7YKjtza+OyoRqqgy27CqYWa1h5e2DDbig==
90 silly tarball trying first-mate@^7.0.2 by hash: sha512-Z9EifmteMsHbR99IiGKvzkhh5Woy774RlIW9UeXWlv/p+93OIi6FRECXHROafUlcdYl7HKEY9x5mggcpAn+GQQ==
91 silly tarball trying highlights@^3.0.1 by hash: sha1-pAT/DXN2S2Rjf7FsEHiwigaMXw0=
92 silly extract first-mate@^7.0.2 extracted to C:\Users\Owner\Documents\GitHub\Atom\bbcode-preview-master\node_modules\.staging\first-mate-f3f00969 (68ms)
93 silly extract highlights@^3.0.1 extracted to C:\Users\Owner\Documents\GitHub\Atom\bbcode-preview-master\node_modules\.staging\highlights-cc1832e5 (71ms)
94 silly extract nan@^2.10.0 extracted to C:\Users\Owner\Documents\GitHub\Atom\bbcode-preview-master\node_modules\.staging\nan-0a4f879f (80ms)
95 silly extract oniguruma@7.0.2 extracted to C:\Users\Owner\Documents\GitHub\Atom\bbcode-preview-master\node_modules\.staging\oniguruma-9dcac318 (129ms)
96 timing action:extract Completed in 130ms
97 silly doReverseSerial unbuild 32
98 silly doSerial remove 32
99 silly doSerial move 32
100 silly doSerial finalize 32
101 silly finalize C:\Users\Owner\Documents\GitHub\Atom\bbcode-preview-master\node_modules\nan
102 silly finalize C:\Users\Owner\Documents\GitHub\Atom\bbcode-preview-master\node_modules\oniguruma
103 silly finalize C:\Users\Owner\Documents\GitHub\Atom\bbcode-preview-master\node_modules\first-mate
104 silly finalize C:\Users\Owner\Documents\GitHub\Atom\bbcode-preview-master\node_modules\highlights
105 timing action:finalize Completed in 10ms
106 silly doParallel refresh-package-json 4
107 silly refresh-package-json C:\Users\Owner\Documents\GitHub\Atom\bbcode-preview-master\node_modules\nan
108 silly refresh-package-json C:\Users\Owner\Documents\GitHub\Atom\bbcode-preview-master\node_modules\oniguruma
109 silly refresh-package-json C:\Users\Owner\Documents\GitHub\Atom\bbcode-preview-master\node_modules\first-mate
110 silly refresh-package-json C:\Users\Owner\Documents\GitHub\Atom\bbcode-preview-master\node_modules\highlights
111 timing action:refresh-package-json Completed in 16ms
112 silly doParallel preinstall 4
113 silly preinstall nan@2.12.1
114 info lifecycle nan@2.12.1~preinstall: nan@2.12.1
115 silly preinstall oniguruma@7.0.2
116 info lifecycle oniguruma@7.0.2~preinstall: oniguruma@7.0.2
117 silly preinstall first-mate@7.1.3
118 info lifecycle first-mate@7.1.3~preinstall: first-mate@7.1.3
119 silly preinstall highlights@3.1.1
120 info lifecycle highlights@3.1.1~preinstall: highlights@3.1.1
121 timing action:preinstall Completed in 1ms
122 silly doSerial build 32
123 silly build nan@2.12.1
124 info linkStuff nan@2.12.1
125 silly linkStuff nan@2.12.1 has C:\Users\Owner\Documents\GitHub\Atom\bbcode-preview-master\node_modules as its parent node_modules
126 silly build oniguruma@7.0.2
127 info linkStuff oniguruma@7.0.2
128 silly linkStuff oniguruma@7.0.2 has C:\Users\Owner\Documents\GitHub\Atom\bbcode-preview-master\node_modules as its parent node_modules
129 silly build first-mate@7.1.3
130 info linkStuff first-mate@7.1.3
131 silly linkStuff first-mate@7.1.3 has C:\Users\Owner\Documents\GitHub\Atom\bbcode-preview-master\node_modules as its parent node_modules
132 silly build highlights@3.1.1
133 info linkStuff highlights@3.1.1
134 silly linkStuff highlights@3.1.1 has C:\Users\Owner\Documents\GitHub\Atom\bbcode-preview-master\node_modules as its parent node_modules
135 verbose linkBins [ { highlights: 'bin/highlights' },
135 verbose linkBins   'C:\\Users\\Owner\\Documents\\GitHub\\Atom\\bbcode-preview-master\\node_modules\\.bin',
135 verbose linkBins   false ]
136 timing action:build Completed in 5ms
137 silly doSerial global-link 32
138 silly doParallel update-linked 0
139 silly doSerial install 32
140 silly install nan@2.12.1
141 info lifecycle nan@2.12.1~install: nan@2.12.1
142 silly install oniguruma@7.0.2
143 info lifecycle oniguruma@7.0.2~install: oniguruma@7.0.2
144 verbose lifecycle oniguruma@7.0.2~install: unsafe-perm in lifecycle true
145 verbose lifecycle oniguruma@7.0.2~install: PATH: C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\atom\app-1.34.0\resources\app\apm\node_modules\npm\node_modules\npm-lifecycle\node-gyp-bin;C:\Users\Owner\Documents\GitHub\Atom\bbcode-preview-master\node_modules\oniguruma\node_modules\.bin;C:\Users\Owner\Documents\GitHub\Atom\bbcode-preview-master\node_modules\.bin;C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\atom\app-1.34.0\resources\app\apm\bin;C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Oracle\Java\javapath;C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Intel\Shared Libraries\redist\intel64\compiler;C:\WINDOWS\system32;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\System32\Wbem;C:\WINDOWS\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\;C:\WINDOWS\System32\OpenSSH\;C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\PhysX\Common;C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NVIDIA NvDLISR;%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\System32\Wbem;%SYSTEMROOT%\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\;%SYSTEMROOT%\System32\OpenSSH\;C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WindowsApps;C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\GitHubDesktop\bin;C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WindowsApps;C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\atom\bin;C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\atom\app-1.34.0\resources\app\apm\node_modules\.bin
146 verbose lifecycle oniguruma@7.0.2~install: CWD: C:\Users\Owner\Documents\GitHub\Atom\bbcode-preview-master\node_modules\oniguruma
147 silly lifecycle oniguruma@7.0.2~install: Args: [ '/d /s /c', 'node-gyp rebuild' ]
148 silly lifecycle oniguruma@7.0.2~install: Returned: code: 1  signal: null
149 info lifecycle oniguruma@7.0.2~install: Failed to exec install script
150 timing action:install Completed in 272ms
151 verbose unlock done using C:\Users\Owner\.atom\.apm\_locks\staging-5550ea0c00188148.lock for C:\Users\Owner\Documents\GitHub\Atom\bbcode-preview-master\node_modules\.staging
152 timing stage:rollbackFailedOptional Completed in 27ms
153 timing stage:runTopLevelLifecycles Completed in 12974ms
154 silly saveTree bbcode-preview@0.0.1
154 silly saveTree +-- bitter-bbcode@0.0.1
154 silly saveTree +-- cheerio@0.15.0
154 silly saveTree | +-- CSSselect@0.4.1
154 silly saveTree | | +-- CSSwhat@0.4.7
154 silly saveTree | | `-- domutils@1.4.3
154 silly saveTree | |   `-- domelementtype@1.3.1
154 silly saveTree | +-- entities@1.0.0
154 silly saveTree | +-- htmlparser2@3.7.3
154 silly saveTree | | +-- domhandler@2.2.1
154 silly saveTree | | +-- domutils@1.5.1
154 silly saveTree | | | `-- dom-serializer@0.1.0
154 silly saveTree | | |   +-- domelementtype@1.1.3
154 silly saveTree | | |   `-- entities@1.1.2
154 silly saveTree | | `-- readable-stream@1.1.14
154 silly saveTree | |   +-- core-util-is@1.0.2
154 silly saveTree | |   +-- inherits@2.0.3
154 silly saveTree | |   +-- isarray@0.0.1
154 silly saveTree | |   `-- string_decoder@0.10.31
154 silly saveTree | `-- lodash@2.4.2
154 silly saveTree +-- coffeelint@1.16.2
154 silly saveTree | +-- coffee-script@1.11.1
154 silly saveTree | +-- glob@7.1.3
154 silly saveTree | | +-- fs.realpath@1.0.0
154 silly saveTree | | +-- inflight@1.0.6
154 silly saveTree | | | +-- once@1.4.0
154 silly saveTree | | | | `-- wrappy@1.0.2
154 silly saveTree | | | `-- wrappy@1.0.2
154 silly saveTree | | +-- minimatch@3.0.4
154 silly saveTree | | | `-- brace-expansion@1.1.11
154 silly saveTree | | |   +-- balanced-match@1.0.0
154 silly saveTree | | |   `-- concat-map@0.0.1
154 silly saveTree | | +-- once@1.4.0
154 silly saveTree | | `-- path-is-absolute@1.0.1
154 silly saveTree | +-- ignore@3.3.10
154 silly saveTree | +-- optimist@0.6.1
154 silly saveTree | | +-- minimist@0.0.8
154 silly saveTree | | `-- wordwrap@0.0.3
154 silly saveTree | +-- resolve@0.6.3
154 silly saveTree | `-- strip-json-comments@1.0.4
154 silly saveTree +-- fs-plus@3.1.1
154 silly saveTree | +-- async@1.5.2
154 silly saveTree | +-- mkdirp@0.5.1
154 silly saveTree | +-- rimraf@2.6.3
154 silly saveTree | `-- underscore-plus@1.6.8
154 silly saveTree |   `-- underscore@1.8.3
154 silly saveTree +-- highlights@3.1.1
154 silly saveTree | +-- first-mate-select-grammar@1.0.2
154 silly saveTree | | `-- lodash@4.17.11
154 silly saveTree | +-- first-mate@7.1.3
154 silly saveTree | | +-- emissary@1.3.3
154 silly saveTree | | | +-- es6-weak-map@0.1.4
154 silly saveTree | | | | +-- d@0.1.1
154 silly saveTree | | | | | `-- es5-ext@0.10.47
154 silly saveTree | | | | |   +-- es6-iterator@2.0.3
154 silly saveTree | | | | |   | +-- d@1.0.0
154 silly saveTree | | | | |   | `-- es6-symbol@3.1.1
154 silly saveTree | | | | |   +-- es6-symbol@3.1.1
154 silly saveTree | | | | |   `-- next-tick@1.0.0
154 silly saveTree | | | | +-- es5-ext@0.10.47
154 silly saveTree | | | | +-- es6-iterator@0.1.3
154 silly saveTree | | | | | `-- es6-symbol@2.0.1
154 silly saveTree | | | | `-- es6-symbol@2.0.1
154 silly saveTree | | | +-- mixto@1.0.0
154 silly saveTree | | | `-- property-accessors@1.1.3
154 silly saveTree | | +-- event-kit@2.5.3
154 silly saveTree | | +-- grim@2.0.2
154 silly saveTree | | +-- oniguruma@7.0.2
154 silly saveTree | | | `-- nan@2.12.1
154 silly saveTree | | `-- season@6.0.2
154 silly saveTree | |   +-- cson-parser@1.3.5
154 silly saveTree | |   | `-- coffee-script@1.12.7
154 silly saveTree | |   `-- yargs@3.32.0
154 silly saveTree | |     +-- camelcase@2.1.1
154 silly saveTree | |     +-- cliui@3.2.0
154 silly saveTree | |     | +-- string-width@1.0.2
154 silly saveTree | |     | | +-- code-point-at@1.1.0
154 silly saveTree | |     | | +-- is-fullwidth-code-point@1.0.0
154 silly saveTree | |     | | | `-- number-is-nan@1.0.1
154 silly saveTree | |     | | `-- strip-ansi@3.0.1
154 silly saveTree | |     | |   `-- ansi-regex@2.1.1
154 silly saveTree | |     | +-- strip-ansi@3.0.1
154 silly saveTree | |     | `-- wrap-ansi@2.1.0
154 silly saveTree | |     +-- decamelize@1.2.0
154 silly saveTree | |     +-- os-locale@1.4.0
154 silly saveTree | |     | `-- lcid@1.0.0
154 silly saveTree | |     |   `-- invert-kv@1.0.0
154 silly saveTree | |     +-- string-width@1.0.2
154 silly saveTree | |     +-- window-size@0.1.4
154 silly saveTree | |     `-- y18n@3.2.1
154 silly saveTree | +-- season@6.0.2
154 silly saveTree | `-- yargs@4.8.1
154 silly saveTree |   +-- get-caller-file@1.0.3
154 silly saveTree |   +-- lodash.assign@4.2.0
154 silly saveTree |   +-- read-pkg-up@1.0.1
154 silly saveTree |   | +-- find-up@1.1.2
154 silly saveTree |   | | +-- path-exists@2.1.0
154 silly saveTree |   | | | `-- pinkie-promise@2.0.1
154 silly saveTree |   | | |   `-- pinkie@2.0.4
154 silly saveTree |   | | `-- pinkie-promise@2.0.1
154 silly saveTree |   | `-- read-pkg@1.1.0
154 silly saveTree |   |   +-- load-json-file@1.1.0
154 silly saveTree |   |   | +-- graceful-fs@4.1.15
154 silly saveTree |   |   | +-- parse-json@2.2.0
154 silly saveTree |   |   | | `-- error-ex@1.3.2
154 silly saveTree |   |   | |   `-- is-arrayish@0.2.1
154 silly saveTree |   |   | +-- pify@2.3.0
154 silly saveTree |   |   | `-- strip-bom@2.0.0
154 silly saveTree |   |   |   `-- is-utf8@0.2.1
154 silly saveTree |   |   +-- normalize-package-data@2.4.0
154 silly saveTree |   |   | +-- hosted-git-info@2.7.1
154 silly saveTree |   |   | +-- is-builtin-module@1.0.0
154 silly saveTree |   |   | | `-- builtin-modules@1.1.1
154 silly saveTree |   |   | +-- semver@5.6.0
154 silly saveTree |   |   | `-- validate-npm-package-license@3.0.4
154 silly saveTree |   |   |   +-- spdx-correct@3.1.0
154 silly saveTree |   |   |   | +-- spdx-expression-parse@3.0.0
154 silly saveTree |   |   |   | | +-- spdx-exceptions@2.2.0
154 silly saveTree |   |   |   | | `-- spdx-license-ids@3.0.3
154 silly saveTree |   |   |   | `-- spdx-license-ids@3.0.3
154 silly saveTree |   |   |   `-- spdx-expression-parse@3.0.0
154 silly saveTree |   |   `-- path-type@1.1.0
154 silly saveTree |   +-- require-directory@2.1.1
154 silly saveTree |   +-- require-main-filename@1.0.1
154 silly saveTree |   +-- set-blocking@2.0.0
154 silly saveTree |   +-- which-module@1.0.0
154 silly saveTree |   +-- window-size@0.2.0
154 silly saveTree |   `-- yargs-parser@2.4.1
154 silly saveTree |     `-- camelcase@3.0.0
154 silly saveTree +-- temp@0.8.3
154 silly saveTree | +-- os-tmpdir@1.0.2
154 silly saveTree | `-- rimraf@2.2.8
154 silly saveTree +-- underscore-plus@1.6.8
154 silly saveTree `-- wrench@1.5.9
155 verbose stack Error: oniguruma@7.0.2 install: `node-gyp rebuild`
155 verbose stack Exit status 1
155 verbose stack     at EventEmitter.<anonymous> (C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\atom\app-1.34.0\resources\app\apm\node_modules\npm\node_modules\npm-lifecycle\index.js:304:16)
155 verbose stack     at emitTwo (events.js:126:13)
155 verbose stack     at EventEmitter.emit (events.js:214:7)
155 verbose stack     at ChildProcess.<anonymous> (C:\Users\Owner\AppData\Local\atom\app-1.34.0\resources\app\apm\node_modules\npm\node_modules\npm-lifecycle\lib\spawn.js:55:14)
155 verbose stack     at emitTwo (events.js:126:13)
155 verbose stack     at ChildProcess.emit (events.js:214:7)
155 verbose stack     at maybeClose (internal/child_process.js:925:16)
155 verbose stack     at Process.ChildProcess._handle.onexit (internal/child_process.js:209:5)
156 verbose pkgid oniguruma@7.0.2
157 verbose cwd C:\Users\Owner\Documents\GitHub\Atom\bbcode-preview-master
158 verbose Windows_NT 10.0.17763
159 verbose argv "C:\\Users\\Owner\\AppData\\Local\\atom\\app-1.34.0\\resources\\app\\apm\\bin\\node.exe" "C:\\Users\\Owner\\AppData\\Local\\atom\\app-1.34.0\\resources\\app\\apm\\node_modules\\npm\\bin\\npm-cli.js" "--globalconfig" "C:\\Users\\Owner\\.atom\\.apm\\.apmrc" "--userconfig" "C:\\Users\\Owner\\.atom\\.apmrc" "install" "--runtime=electron" "--target=2.0.16" "--dist-url=https://atom.io/download/electron" "--arch=x64"
160 verbose node v8.9.3
161 verbose npm  v6.2.0
162 error code ELIFECYCLE
163 error errno 1
164 error oniguruma@7.0.2 install: `node-gyp rebuild`
164 error Exit status 1
165 error Failed at the oniguruma@7.0.2 install script.
165 error This is probably not a problem with npm. There is likely additional logging output above.
166 verbose exit [ 1, true ]

Was there a reason you didn’t use the built in package installer? I’m not sure if it will help with a node-gyp error, but it’s worth a try. You’ll need to remove / delete whatever you added to the packages directory though.

Also, please wrap any “exactness” sensitive text in ``` like so

```
paste log here
```

Your debug log is very difficult to read as is.

Yes, I was trying to figure out how to do that with the log. I don’t know if this has a built in installer though. I didn’t remove or add anything that I know of, I just downloaded it and moved the folder around a couple of times.

Also, I have the GitHub app on my computer and I forked it, but I don’t know if that helps at all - I don’t know what to do with it after I fork it.

Actually, I just started up Atom, and it shows that bbcode-preview is installed now, but I don’t know if it is installed correctly.

I tried Ctrl-Shift-m which I think should have worked, to show markdown preview, but it didn’t show the preview properly formatted, just the code. I changed the document file to .md and I have a .html, .bb and a .txt, but it doesn’t work correctly for any of them.

Because bbcode-preview isn’t a published package.

You don’t have any need to fork the package unless you want to modify the code and publish it. The only action you need to take is to clone the repo. However, since the package in question seems to have been abandoned (it was created five years ago and has had no code changes for over a year), it might be prudent to keep a copy on your GitHub account just in case, and clone from your account. If you do decide that you want to modify the code, having the remote repo be under your account will make it easy for you to upload your changes and save or share them.

Actually, I just started up Atom, and it shows that bbcode-preview is installed now, but I don’t know if it is installed correctly.

It’s not, because oniguruma hasn’t been built. oniguruma, according to your debug log, is a dependency of highlights (look at the section that starts with 154 silly saveTree). Even though Atom includes oniguruma, it doesn’t include highlights and APM, when it’s installing a package, doesn’t have access to the modules contained in the archive that stores all of Atom’s code, so it assumes that it needs to install oniguruma. Since oniguruma contains C++ code that compiles into a regular expression engine, it automatically tries to run the module node-gyp to compile the code. node-gyp is just a binding for C++ build tools, which most Unix-based operating systems contain by default. Microsoft has never been one to assume that its users would be at all interested in software development, so the Microsoft build tools are available as optional downloads and you have to install Python yourself. There are instructions in the node-gyp documentation about how to configure Windows to be able to build modules that rely on native code.

Using the built-in installer will not fix this (it’s the exact same APM process, just with a GUI). Windows is simply incapable of running the build process until you set it up to do so.

1 Like

Ok, thanks for all of your help DamnedScholar, I may try to work through this post to see if I can get it to run, but it just seems like a lot of hassle in which I can simply find a website to preview on instead of Atom, such as one of the links below:

BBCode Tester - Infinite Story

Live BBcode Tester BETA // Rokker93 // Katana Jr

As you can probably tell, a lot of this goes over my head, I have taken a few programming classes in the past, but I can’t understand it.

It’s only a hassle the first time. Once you get all of the build tools set up, you don’t need to ever do it again until you switch computers, and then it’s really easy because you’ve already been through it.

The way to get to the point where you understand it is to ask questions. I’m not a professional developer or even very good. I write a handful of JavaScript/Python every year or so. I know how to do all of this mostly because I use Atom religiously as an editor where I can tell it to do literally anything I want to. At one point, I wanted to install a package that built native code, so I banged my head against Windows until I got everything installed correctly. I have wanted to do exactly what you want to do and have a package installed that didn’t exist in the registry, so I read everything in Atom’s documentation and everything posted on this forum about APM and followed up by reading the NPM documentation and now I know about 90% of the things there are to know about NPM. All of the information is out there and, in computer science terms, none of this is difficult or complex (compared to neural networks and the complex switching and error-proofing operations that your computer performs billions of times a second). If you do this and learn these things, you will find the second time to be a breeze.

I appreciate your help, I’ll work on this tomorrow maybe, I do want to learn how to do it. I’ve read a few topics on installing manually, but they basically rehashed what you told me in your first post. I won’t give up though.

And yes, I love Atom. I used Dreamweaver when I had it, but for free, Atom is very nice.

1 Like

No problem. Any further questions you have, just ask.

There’s also a chance that bbcode-preview has been broken by time and neglect. I heavily doubt it, since it’s based on a core Atom package (markdown-preview) and I don’t think that Atom has changed significantly enough to mess with what it’s trying to do. If it is, we can figure out what’s not working and how to fix it. Maybe rewrite the entire package if we need to (I’ve done that before). I’m not going to do that by myself, because I have no need for this package, but I’m perfectly happy helping other people get to where they want to be, including doing much of the heavy lifting in terms of actual code changes, as long as the person who wants it is invested enough to walk that road with me (as opposed to asking for a fix and not doing anything to be involved in it, which also happens from time to time).

1 Like

Yes, I understand, and again I appreciate it. I wouldn’t ask you to do something like that if I didn’t put the work in myself. But first things first, let me try to work through what you suggested, it may take a few days, and see if that works. Then I’ll take it from there.

1 Like

FYI, I managed to install and build it on my Atom, it appears to be compatible. I don’t know how compliant it is though, as [color=blue][b][url]the URL[/url][/b][/color] (from some tutorial I found) was not formatted at all (but [u]foo[/u] was underlined).

1 Like

Aerijo, would you mind linking that tutorial? Honestly, all I need it to do for now is:

[h1]header 1[/h1]
[b]bold[/b]
[u]underline[/u]
[i]italic[/i]
[strike]strikethrough[/strike]
[spoiler]spoiler[/spoiler]
[noparse]no parse[/noparse]
[url]link[/url]
[quote]quote[/quote]
[code]code[/code]
[list]list[/list]
[olist]numbered list[/olist]
[*]indent[/*]
[table]table[/table]
[tr][/tr]
[th][/th]
[td]/td]

What I am looking to use it for is fairly limited in scope, unfortunately. Yet it would be very nice to be able to preview it in Atom before I post it, so I can just copy/paste it.

Here’s the result

I don’t think it can be copied either (you mean the HTML by this?), though it may be possible to tweak the source to allow this.

As for the tutorial, I just looked up BBcode examples. I think it’s somewhere from the homepage

Hmmm I see, as you said previously it will do some but not all. I appreciate you showing me this, I’m surprised with all of the packages on Atom that there isn’t one for BBCode that is fully functional. Supply and demand I guess, too little of a demand for a simplistic web language. I think I will just make do without it, I have found a way to manage.

2 Likes