I have noticed that uninstalled packages and packages that have been updated to a new version – leave everything behind.
Even the built-in packages that have been updated, have their old version folders right there with it.
It’s not causing a problem for me. I will just have to go into this folder every so often and manage the packages myself.
I guess I just do not want to break anything by manually deleting these old versions. In the event that there is a db somewhere that I could be breaking.