Advice on creating a "Draw on Screen" App

Hi Electron community,
I am a front end developer and before to dive into the magic of Electron I would like to ask you if I will be able to create what I have in mind.

If some of you remebers the great app OmniDazzle, unfortunatly retired, I would like to create something similar and I thought that it would be the right occasion to try to create my first desktop app usign Electron.

For those who don’t know OmniDazzle, it was a little application that give the power to write on the desktop above any application present. I’ve searched for some substitute of this app but in the OSX ecosystem I didn’t find any that suits my needs.

Now, before dig any further, I would like to understand if I can create a “full desktop app” that will track mouse movements and left/right click in order to draw over my app.

I know that there are already plenty of good drawing app in Electron and I can suppose that the mouse/drawing part is been already solved, but I would like to know if the applications that we can build with this framework are able to live on top of all the others.

Thank you in advance and sorry if this questions seems too dumb to more experienced developers but even if I want to learn Electron and improve my JavaScript knowledge, since work is eating most of my time I would like to know if is possible to develop what I have in mind before to invest dozen of hours in learning and testing.

Thanks to anyone will reply me,
Andrea

First of all, this sounds like a fantastic project! You might want to try creating a full screen, borderless window (can be done very easily when crate a BrowserWindow object). There is also a “always on top” flag you could look into. I’m going to play around with kiosk mode a little bit to see how it plays with transparency.

Sounds promising. I think it’s time to doop dive into JavaScript and Electron :smiley: